Cricket Australia

Sir Donald Bradman Oration


An event which honours the career, contribution and memory of the world's greatest-ever cricketer, the Sir Donald Bradman Oration is a feature of the Australian cricket calendar and a celebration of the spirit of cricket.

The function provides a platform for a prominent national or international figure to reflect on Sir Donald's career, and on cricket's place in their own lives and the life of the nation. The Honorable John Howard delivered the inaugural oration in August 2000 in his capacity as Australian Prime Minister.

2013 Sir Donald Bradman Oration

Mike Brearley delivered the 2013 Sir Donald Bradman Oration at The Langham Hotel in Melbourne. The former English player captained the international side in 31 of his 39 Test matches, winning 17 and losing just four. He was the President of the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) in 2007–08. Since his retirement from professional cricket he has pursued a career as a writer and psychoanalyst, serving as President of the British Psychoanalytical Society 2008–10.

Following the oration, a panel discussion was held with Rod Marsh, Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars captain Alex Blackwell, Greg Chappell and Brearley.

2012 Sir Donald Bradman Oration

Gideon Haigh delivered the 2012 Sir Donald Bradman Oration at The Langham Hotel in Melbourne. Mr Haigh has been a journalist for nearly 30 years. He has contributed to more than 100 newspapers and magazines including The Guardian and the Times. He has written 26 books and edited seven others. His cricket books range from biographies of the Australia Test cricketers Warwick Armstrong and Jack Iverson, to a history of cricket and Australia in the 1950s and 1960s, The Summer Game, along with the official history of Cricket Australia, Inside Story. He was script supervisor of this year's TV hit mini-series Howzat and is a panellist on the ABC's SUnday morning sports show Offsiders.

In addition to the oration, a panel discussion regarding club cricket involved Ricky Ponting, Ed Cowen Mel Jones and James Sutherland 

2011 Sir Donald Bradman Oration

The 2011 Sir Donald Bradman Oration was delivered by Rahul Dravid on 14 December, 2011 at the Canberra War Memorial. Dravid is a retired Indian cricketer who scored 13094 runs in 160 Tests at an average of 53.22 and 10889 one day runs in 344 matches. As captain, he led India series victories in England and the West Indies for the first time in a generation. Rahul Dravid follows a list of notable orators including former Prime Minister of Australia, Hon John Howard, TV personality and entertainer Sir Michael Parkinson, cricketing legend and cricket commentator Mr Richie Benaud, radio broadcaster Mr Alan Jones AO, our current Australian Captain Mr Ricky Ponting and former Test Captain of Australia Mr Greg Chappell, MBE.


Although his playing career ended more than half a century ago, Sir Donald Bradman remains Australian cricket's most revered and influential figure. His contribution as a player, a leader and an administrator transcended cultural and generational divides, and extended right across the international cricket community.

The Sir Donald Bradman Oration was established by Cricket Australia in 2000 as a means of marking that contribution, and recognising the role that cricket has played in shaping the Australian culture and way of life.

The oration permits a significant national and/or sporting identity the opportunity to recognise Sir Donald's unique and profound impact upon the sport on and off the field over a period of more than seven decades. It also provides the keynote speaker with the chance to honour and celebrate his place in Australian history more generally.

    17th August 2000, Melbourne: The Honorable John Howard, Prime Minister of Australia.
    18th December 2003, Brisbane: Sir Michael Parkison CBE, British media personality
    15th January 2005, Hobart: Richie Benaud, former Australian captain.
    29th October 2006, Brisbane: Alan Jones, radio personality and former Australia Rugby coach.
    15th January 2008, Perth: General Peter Cosgrove AC, MC
    27th August 2008, Sydney: Ricky Ponting, Australia Captain
    19th November 2009, Melbourne: Greg Chappell MBE
    2nd December 2010, Adelaide, Sir Tim Rice
    14th December 2011, Canberra, Rahul Dravid
    24th October 2012, Melbourne, Gideon Haigh    
    23rd October 2013, Melbourne, Mike Brearley

Commercial Partners