Cricket Australia



Rules of Cricket - traditional formats

Cricket is one of the most popular and highly participated sports in Australia.

Part of its popularity and appeal is the unique characteristics, traditions and values that define the game.

Understanding the rules of cricket will help you play the game to your best and enjoy the game as a fan

Cricket has been governed by a series of Codes of Law for more than 250 years. Today, there are 42 laws in cricket. The custodian of the laws is the Marylebone Cricket Club, based at Lord's Cricket Ground in London.

Although the International Cricket Council is the global Governing Body for cricket, it still relies on MCC to write and interpret the Laws of Cricket, which are applicable from the local park to the Test arena.

Download a copy of the Laws of Cricket here

Where can I play cricket?
Find Your Club

Commercial Partners