Cricket Australia Items/news/2012/12/28/womens-world-cup-squad-announced

Women’s World Cup India 2013 squad announced

UPDATED 13 February, 2013 11:57AM AEST | 3

The Women’s National Selection Panel (WNSP) has today announced a 15-player squad for the ICC Women’s World Cup India 2013, which starts next month.

The tournament will take place from 31 January – 17 February, 2013 at four venues in Mumbai.
The squad for the ICC Women’s World Cup India 2013 is:

Jodie Fields (c) QLD

Alex Blackwell (vc) NSW

Jess Cameron VIC

Sarah Coyte NSW

Holly Ferling QLD

Rachael Haynes NSW

Alyssa Healy NSW

Julie Hunter VIC

Jess Jonassen QLD

Meg Lanning VIC

Erin Osborne NSW

Ellyse Perry NSW

Megan Schutt SA

Lisa Sthalekar NSW

Elyse Villani VIC

Commenting on the squad, Women’s National Selection Panel (WNSP) Chair of Selectors Julie Savage said: “The WNSP have selected a powerful and well-balanced squad to contest the ICC Women's World Cup India 2013.

“Recent international matches suggest this will be a very closely contested event. England, as the number one ranked team, will be the tournament favourites, but the recent form of a resurgent New Zealand, as well as India on their home turf and the powerfully athletic West Indian team will provide tough contests throughout the entire event.
“The Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars will need to perform strongly and consistently across all disciplines. Our batting line-up has been in good form, led by the record-breaking feats of Meg Lanning. The recent retirement of Leah Poulton from ODIs opens the way for hard-hitting Victorian batter Elyse Villani to join the squad. Elyse has been one of highest run-scorers in the Women’s National Cricket League (WNCL) this season, scoring those runs at an excellent strike rate.
“Our spin attack will be led by experienced all-rounder Lisa Sthalekar. Lisa was a key part of Australia's ICC Women’s World Twenty20 2012 victory in Sri Lanka earlier this season with her wily use of variation and ability to dry up the scoring rate.
“Coming into the squad to support the experienced pace trio of Ellyse Perry, Julie Hunter and Sarah Coyte is South Australian Megan Schutt. Megan made her international debut in the recent Rose Bowl Series against New Zealand and was impressive. The explosive young Queensland quick Holly Ferling completes the pace line-up,” Savage said.

The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Cricket Australia

First Posted 28 December, 2012 12:00PM AEST

Commercial Partners