Cricket Australia Items/news/2012/7/11/indoor-juniors-results

Titles shared at junior champs

UPDATED 21 November, 2012 8:03AM AEST |

Seven days of exciting indoor cricket has ended with titles shared between Queensland, New South Wales and South Australia at the Australian Junior Indoor Cricket Championships played at Strathpine in Queensland last week.

In the youngest division, U12 boys, the New South Wales Cyclones won their second national junior title and first in six years, with a complete performance in the final against South Australia. Ryan Peacock of the Cylones was player of the match in the 135 to 56 run win.

South East Queensland’s U14 boys capped off a great week with a strong win in the final against South Australia. The team went through the tournament undefeated. South East Queensland captain Brandon James starred in his team’s 112 to 89 run win.

Despite going through the preliminary rounds undefeated, defending championships Western Australia were unable to go back-to-back in the U16 boys losing the decider to Queensland 109 to 45. Queensland’s co-captain capped off a great week, named runner-up in the Player of the Series with the Player of the Match award.

The U16 girls made their debut at the championships and made an immediate impact displaying skill levels beyond their years. NSW (124) defeated South Australia (20) in the final with New South Wales' Matilda Power taking out Player of the Match honours.

U18 boys Player of the Series Jack Holliday was unable to will his gallant South Australian side to victory against defending champions New South Wales in a high quality final. New South Wales ran out winners 127 to 98 with Brendan Cleaver named Player of the Match.

After appearing in four finals, South Australia capped off the tournament with victory in the U18 girls. A dominant fielding display saw South Australia hold defending title holders Queensland to just 46 before an equally impressive performance from the Queenslanders came up agonisingly short with South Australia winning by the solitary run (47). South Australia’s Amanda Wellington was player of the match.


12 & under boys
Grand Final:   NSW Cyclones 135 d South Australia 56
Player of the Grand Final: Ryan Peacock (NSW Cyclones)
Player of the Series:  Daniel Battaglene (SE Queensland)
14 & under boys

Grand Final:   SE Queensland 112 d South Australia 89
Player of the Grand Final: Brandon James (SE Queensland)
Player of the Series:  Nicholas Fox (South Australia)
16 & under boys

Grand Final:   Queensland 109 d Western Australia 45
Player of the Grand Final: Justin Allen (Queensland)
Player of the Series:  Travis Keys (Western Australia)
16 & under girls

Grand Final:   NSW Blues 124 d South Australia 20
Player of the Grand Final: Matilda Power (NSW Blues)
Player of the Series:  Elizabeth Stephens (NSW Blues)
18 & under boys

Grand Final:   NSW Blues 127 d South Australia 98
Player of the Grand Final: Brendan Cleaver (NSW Blues)
Player of the Series:   Jack Holliday (South Australia)
18 & under girls

Grand Final:   South Australia 47 d Queensland 46
Player of the Grand Final: Amanda Wellington (South Australia)
Player of the Series:  Blayne Gibbs (Queensland

The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Cricket Australia

First Posted 11 July, 2012 11:00AM AEST

Commercial Partners