Cricket Australia Items/news/2012/7/18/junior-indoor-squads

Junior Indoor Teams Announced

UPDATED 28 February, 2013 1:38PM AEST | by Cricket Australia

Australian teams named for upcoming Junior World Series in South Africa

Cricket Australia has announced the squads that will represent Australia at the upcoming, inaugural World Indoor Cricket Federation (WICF) Junior World Series in Johannesburg, South Africa starting September 30, 2012.

Teams will compete across four divisions: 12 & under boys, 14 & under Boys, 16 & under boys and 16 & under girls.

The event will feature teams from Australia, South Africa, New Zealand and England across four divisions.

Australian Extreme Men’s coach Ross Gregory expressed his support for the newly created event.

“This is a significant step in providing a clear pathway for our junior players to reach the pinnacle of our sport,” Gregory said.

“I look forward to monitoring the progress of our future stars.”

Rod Kimmitt, Cricket Australia’s Indoor Cricket Program Manager, said the event provides a great stage for Australia’s large number of indoor participants.

“With over 198,000 participants, Indoor cricket plays a crucial role in our goal for cricket to be Australia’s favourite sport and this event will help us to highlight the opportunities for junior participation in cricket across 12 months of the year,” Kimmitt said.

Australian players will be attempting to emulate the feats of Australia’s senior teams that travelled to the same venue last year for the WICF Indoor Cricket World Cup and returned victorious in all divisions.

Australian Indoor Cricket Teams

12 & under boys

Zack Reekie – South Australia

Harry Wardlaw – Victoria

Bailey Dickinson – New South Wales

Jackson Wise – Australian Capital Territory

Marty Jeffrey – New South Wales

Tyson Miller – South Australia

Mackenzie Harvey – Victoria

Connor Slattery – New South Wales

Tyler Hays - Australian Capital Territory

Cameron Bullard – South Australia

Jordan Wood – Australian Capital Territory

Jai Tasker – New South Wales


Coach: Terry Small – New South Wales

Asst Coach: Eddie Sultan – New South Wales

Manager: Mick Miller – South Australia

14 & under boys

Lachlan King – Victoria

Tim Stead – Queensland

Jarrod Lysaught – New South Wales

Wade Burrows – New South Wales

Adrian Lascu – Queensland

Nicholas Fox – South Australia

Benji Floros – Australian Capital Territory

Jaymen McLean – Queensland

Anthony Johnston – New South Wales

Jack Budd – Victoria

Jayden Davey – Queensland

Lachlan Binskin – New South Wales


Coach: Ron Olsen – Queensland

Asst Coach: Tony Pahi – Victoria

Manager: Martin Anderson – Queensland


16 & under boys

Ryan Dowse – Queensland

Josh Pettigrew – New South Wales

Jamie Diener – South Australia

Jarrod Munday – Victoria

Ben Patterson – New South Wales

Travis Keys – Western Australia

Ben Cooper – Victoria

Nathan Battaglene – Queensland

James Groves – Western Australia

Alex Cowley – Queensland

Pat Burnell – Victoria

Matthew Panecasio – New South Wales


Coach: Brett Cooper – Victoria

Manager: Peter Gigliotti – Victoria


16 & under girls

Piepa Cleary –Western Australia

Meagan Dixon – Queensland

Amanda Wellington – South Australia

Alex Lascu – Queensland

Blayne Gibbs – Queensland

Stacey Oates – South Australia

Courtney Hewitt – Queensland

Donna Clark – South Australia

Ainsley Knight – South Australia

Katie Mazzochi – New South Wales

Georgia Hendy – Queensland

Amy Edgar – New South Wales


Coach: Kerrie Brill – New South Wales

Manager: Joycie Mayers - Queensland




The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Cricket Australia

First Posted 18 July, 2012 2:59PM AEST

Commercial Partners