Cricket Australia Items/news/2012/7/30/indoor-open-results

QLD National Indoor Champions

UPDATED 30 July, 2012 5:53PM AEST | by Cricket Australia

The 2012 Australian Indoor Cricket Open Championships have concluded with Queensland men claiming their 12th title.

The Championships, hosted by Indoor Sports Victoria at Insportz Springvale, produced the closest title race in memory with all sides still in the finals hunt entering the final round of preliminary matches.

After making the final the hard way, via a hard fought preliminary final against hosts Victoria, Queensland entered the match with confidence against a New South Wales side that had won their previous three encounters.

Queensland’s confidence was well placed as they produced their best fielding effort of the week, restricting the ladder leaders to 53 with Australian players Michael Spargo (3/5) and Rob Fitzgerald (2/2) starring with the ball.

In reply, Queensland struggled early against New South Wales, who were determined to atone  for their poor batting effort and were held to just 24 after 8 overs.

Enter Queensland third batting pair Rhys Dearness and Andrew Boyle who blunted the effectiveness of New South Wales’ rising stars Mark Rice and Nathan Sowter as they put on 42 to effectively send the trophy north.

Dearness was named Man of the Match.

In other matches, home side Victoria caused a minor upset in the Open women’s division beating the undefeated and defending champions Queensland in a clinical performance 141 to 111.

Victoria’s Bethany Taylor was named player of the match for her 23 runs and 2/5.

The men’s 21 & under final was played between defending champions Victoria and New South Wales who both reached the final after defeating the highly-fancied Queensland outfit.

In a match dominated by the bat New South Wales emerged victorious 129 to 121 to claim their first national 21 & under title.

Victoria’s Rian Boddy was named player of the match.

In Lord’s Taverners Shield competition Queensland were attempting to win an unprecedented ninth straight title against a Victorian team that had shown continued improvement throughout the tournament.

Batting first the Queenslanders amassed an impressive 164 on the back of opening pair Brett Wilson and James Rossiter’s 56 run partnership and 58 from final pair Rex Breed and Josh Long.

Despite the efforts of captain Jarrod Connelly and Shaun Wilkie, who contributed 39 for the second partnership, Victoria could only manage 54 handing the defending champions their historic title.

Queensland’s Rebecca Heading was named player of the match.

Final Results

Open Men

Minor Semi Final:  Victoria 72 drew ACT 72

Major Semi Final:  New South Wales 111 d Queensland 103

Preliminary Final:  Queensland 105 d Victoria 94

Grand Final:   Queensland 90 d New South Wales 53


Player of the Grand Final:  Rhys Dearness (QLD)

Player of the Series:   Brad Jones (VIC)

Open Women

Minor Semi Final:  South Australia 136 d Victoria Development 65

Major Semi Final:  Queensland 154 d Victoria 119

Preliminary Final:  Victoria 144 d South Australia 21

Grand Final:   Victoria 141 d Queensland 111


Player of the Grand Final: Bethany Taylor (VIC)

Player of the Series:  Briony Polkinghorne (VIC)

21 & Under Men

Minor Semi Final:  Victoria 139 d South Australia 131

Major Semi Final:   New South Wales 134 d Queensland 125

Preliminary Final:  Victoria 119 d Queensland 87

Grand Final:   New South Wales 129 d Victoria 121


Player of Grand Final:  Rian Boddy (VIC)

Player of the Series:  Daniel Yates (NSW)

Lord’s Taverners Shield

Minor Semi Final:  Western Australia 117 d South Australia 77

Major Semi Final:  Queensland 158 d Victoria 128

Preliminary Final:  Victoria 132 d Western Australia 72

Grand Final:   Queensland 164 d Victoria 54


Player of the Grand Final: Rebecca Heading (QLD)

Player of the Series:  Brett Wilson (QLD)

The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Cricket Australia

First Posted 30 July, 2012 4:29PM AEST

Commercial Partners