Cricket Australia Items/news/2012/8/23/india-set-up-blockbuster-final-with-australia

India set up blockbuster final

UPDATED 14 February, 2013 1:17PM AEST | by James Willoughby in Townsville, Omnisport

India booked their spot in the ICC Under-19 World Cup final with a victory over New Zealand on Thursday, while Nepal and Zimbabwe also won.

Unmukt Chand's India side defeated the Kiwis by nine runs in an entertaining encounter at Tony Ireland Stadium in Townsville.

After being sent in to bat, Prashant Chopra (52) and Chand (31) got India off to a good start, making 51 for the first wicket.

And although Chand was bowled by Connor Neynens (1-37 off eight overs), Baba Aparajith (44) came in and picked up the slack.

India were cruising at 1-132 but a brilliant diving catch from Will Young saw Chopra dismissed off the bowling of Ed Nuttall (1-22 off eight).

And they lost their way from there, losing eight wickets for just 77 runs as they finished at 9-209 from their 50 overs.

Left-arm spinner Ben Horne (3-28 off six) was the pick of the New Zealand bowlers while Matthew Quinn (2-36 off 10) also impressed.

In response, New Zealand lost regular wickets with only Cameron Fletcher (53), Joe Carter (30) and Robert O'Donnell (29) at the crease for any substantial period of time.

And although Fletcher and O'Donnell added 56 for the fifth wicket, it was in more than 19 overs, leaving the tail-enders with too much to do.

Spinner Harmeet Singh (2-30 off 10) bowled well for India as they set up a meeting with Australia in the final.

New Zealand will now play South Africa on Saturday in the third-place playoff.

Nepal were easy six-wicket winners against Papua New Guinea in the 13th-place playoff in Brisbane.

Papua New Guinea were dismissed for just 89 in the 34th over as left-arm spinner Rahul Vishwakarma (6-3 off 6.2) ran riot.

Lega Siaka (18) and Dogodo Bau (13) gave PNG a decent start but Nepal captain Prithu Baskota (2-14 off five) took two early wickets to stem the flow.

Sese Bau (21) and Charles Amini (19) also chipped in but Vishwakarma triggered a huge collapse as Papua New Guinea lost their last seven wickets for just 20 runs.

Vishwakarma capped off his superb day with a run out as PNG made a total that was never going to be enough.

Subash Khakurel (zero) was dismissed early in Nepal's innings but Naresh Budayair (27) and Sagar Pun (20) steadied things as they finished at 4-90 in the 19th over.

Zimbabwe also won well, defeating Namibia by 70 runs in the 15th-place playoff in Brisbane.

Ryan Burl (78) and Matthew Bentley (67) added 113 runs for the fourth wicket but handy bowling at the death saw Jason Davidson (3-26 off nine) restrict Zimbabwe to 9-236 off their 50 overs.

Namibia were bowled out for 166 in response with Gerhard Erasmus (32) the best of their batsmen.

Spinner Peacemore Zimwa (3-47 off nine) and medium-pacer Luke Jongwe (3-29 off 6.5) helped Zimbabwe to victory.

The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Cricket Australia

First Posted 23 August, 2012 8:51PM AEST

Commercial Partners