Cricket Australia Items/news/2012/9/28/board

Board names new nominees

UPDATED 20 November, 2012 10:50PM AEST | by Cricket Australia

Cricket Australia’s Board has today unanimously recommended that three outstanding individuals with diverse backgrounds and skills be elected as CA’s first-ever independent directors on a streamlined nine-member Board.

The three names will be put to CA Member State Cricket Associations at CA’s Annual General Meeting on 25 October and subject to their approval – a two-thirds vote is needed - will meet as independent members of the CA Board for the first time on 26 October.

That Board will serve for three years before then progressively moving over two years to become a Board of nine-independent directors.

CA Chairman Wally Edwards today named the following people to be recommended to the CA members:

Jacquie Hey

former Managing Director Ericsson Australia and NZ, who also held Managing Director roles with Ericsson in the UK, Ireland and Saudi Arabia, and currently a non-Executive Director with Bendigo & Adelaide Bank and SBS (as well as Honorary Consul of Sweden for Victoria)

·    David Peever

Managing Director Australia Rio Tinto, Business Council of Australia Councillor and Economic Policy and Competitiveness Committee Chairman, Vice Chairman of the Minerals Council of Australia, Chairman of Northparkes Joint Venture, Male Champions of Change Advisory Group Member, and Melbourne Storm Business Advisory Board Member

Kevin Roberts

a former NSW first-class cricketer/middle order bat with a top score of 119 for his state, a non-Executive Director of Netball Australia and former Colorado Group/Fusion Retail CEO and adidas Pacific Managing Director who also held senior adidas roles in Hong Kong and Germany

The three nominees will sit alongside John Bannon, Tony Harrison, Earl Eddings, Dr Harry Harinath and former Test fast bowler Michael Kasprowicz on a new Board replacing the previous, state-based, 14-member CA Board.

Mr Edwards said the three were identified after a rigorous search process that started with an initial long list of more than 100 eminent Australians.

“The Board today recommended that CA Members approve these three outstanding candidates to become independent Directors on our new Board,” he said.

“They all bring a close interest in and knowledge of cricket combined with significant experience and success at very senior corporate levels dealing with a wide range of diverse contemporary business challenges relevant to cricket, plus understanding and experience working with different cultures which is important to us as we strive to ensure cricket is a sport for all Australians of all backgrounds.

"Most importantly, they offer us independent, expert insight from outside the day-to-day cricket world - we were focussed on finding three high-calibre candidates completely independent of cricket".


He thanked his fellow CA Board Nominations Committee members Don Argus, Tony Hodgson, Ian McLachlan and Geoff Tamblyn for their work, which was supported by search firm Egon Zehnder International, and for their unanimous recommendation.


Subject to Member approval finalising the new Board, Mr Edwards said he would introduce the new Board to Australian cricket and, via the media, to the public at next month’s AGM.


CA’s governance changes followed an exhaustive review and recommendations by sports governance specialists David Crawford and Colin Carter and the move to a CA Board of six State Cricket Association representatives, one from each Member state, plus three independent Directors, was approved in August.


At that time, Mr Edwards described the changes as the biggest in the 107-year history of Australian cricket administration.


The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Cricket Australia

First Posted 28 September, 2012 4:18PM AEST

Commercial Partners