Cricket Australia Items/news/2013/1/18/wt20-primed-for-big-finale

WT20 primed for big finale

UPDATED 06 February, 2013 10:13AM AEST | by Cricket Australia

Australia’s top female cricketers will take centre stage this Saturday, with the WT20 final scheduled to precede the KFC T20 Big Bash League (BBL) BIG FINAL at the WACA in Perth.

FOX SPORTS will broadcast the WT20 final, which will commence at 12.35pm Perth time, live and exclusive ahead of the BIG FINAL between the Perth Scorchers and the Brisbane Heat that follows at 5.00pm (Perth time) at the Furnace. ABC Radio will also provide live updates on ABC Grandstand throughout the match.


The Lend Lease Breakers and Western Fury finished first and second respectively on the WT20 table at the end of the home-and-away season and will both be vying to have their name etched on the trophy for the first time.


The Breakers remained undefeated in their 12 matches in the 20-over competition this season and will be looking for their first WT20 title, having finished runners-up in all WT20 finals since the competition’s inception in 2009-10.


This is a history-making occasion for the Fury, who have qualified for their first ever final in this format and they will be hoping to exact some revenge for their defeat to the Breakers in the WNCL semi-finals last weekend.


In order to enter the venue to watch the WT20 final, fans will need to have purchased a ticket to the BIG FINAL.


The match will be live scored on, while you can also follow updates via Twitter: @CricNSWBreakers, @waca_cricket and @_SouthernStars




NSW Breakers: Alex Blackwell (c), Rachael Haynes, Sarah Aley, Nicola Carey, Sarah Coyte, Alyssa Healy, Claire Koski, Sharon Millanta, Erin Osborne, Leah Poulton, Angela Reakes, Lisa Sthalekar, Kara Sutherland

Western Fury:Nicole Bolton (c), Suzie Bates, Emma Biss, Kate Burns, Renee Chappell, Sarah Fragomeni, Heather Graham, Emma King, Chloe Piparo, Nicky Shaw, Gemma Triscari, Jenny Wallace

The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Cricket Australia

First Posted 18 January, 2013 3:34PM AEST

Commercial Partners