Cricket Australia Items/news/2013/1/23/nsw-wins-u18f-national-champs

NSW wins U18F National Champs

UPDATED 06 February, 2013 10:14AM AEST | by Cricket Australia 4

New South Wales continued their strangle-hold on the Under-18 National Championships after winning the Betty Butcher Shield for the ninth consecutive time yesterday in Ballarat.

It was an impressive performance from NSW, who beat second-placed Victoria by 120 runs in the final.

The Betty Wilson Medal for Player of the Championships was shared between Chloe Piparo (WA) and Zoe Cooke (ACT).

Piparo also picked up leading run scorer with 299 runs at an average of 99.67.

Amanda-Jade Wellington from South Australia, who also had an impressive tournament with the bat, was named leading wicket taker with 19 wickets at an average of 6.63.

New South Wales (7/253) def Victoria (133)

After electing to bat in the U18F final, NSW set an extremely competitive total of 7/253 off 50 overs. 

Lily Bardsley and Mary Molloy combined for a 158 run partnership, with both girls getting 82 runs.

Victoria shared the wickets around (Julia Crockett-Grills, Sarah Chancellor-Goddard and Nicola Hancock all picked up two wickets each), but NSW’s total would prove too hard to chase down.

Victoria had a few contributors and Emily Smith top-scored with 46, but their run chase was interrupted by the frequent loss of wickets.

Anna Horton (2/16) and Ashleigh Gardner (2/24) were the best bowlers for NSW, while 3 run outs also contributed to NSW’s victory.

In the end, Victoria was all out for 133 in the 39th over, handing NSW an easy win and their ninth straight Betty Butcher Shield.

South Australia (8/179) def Western Australia (80)

The match to decide third and fourth place turned out to be another one-sided affair.

Western Australia’s bowlers would have been happy with their efforts, restricting South Australia to 8/179 in the first innings.

The team from the west didn’t allow any SA batters to go on with their starts. Kylie Rattray top scored in the middle of the order with 39 runs, supported by all-rounder Amanda Wellington who scored a patient 28 runs.

Heather Graham was the pick of the bowlers for Western Australia, taking 4/31 from nine overs.

But a terrible batting collapse for Western Australia extinguished any hopes of a successful run chase.

Amanda Wellington bowled South Australia to victory with 4/24, and cemented her position at the top of the tournament’s wicket-takers.

Queensland (3/97) def ACT (94)

Queensland ended their tournament with a flourish in their comprehensive seven-wicket win over ACT.

The ACT got off to a bad start with opener Philippa Taylor caught and bowled by Caitlin Collins for a duck.  But solid batting from captain Zoe Cooke (47) provided some resistance to the Queensland bowling before they were bowled out for 94 runs in the 34th over.

Queenslanders Haidee Burkett and Lauren Hume (both with figures of 2/9) led the destruction of the ACT batters.

In reply, Queensland’s batting order made light work of the small total, losing only 3 wickets to reach 97 in the 25th over. 

Auckland def Tasmania

Auckland Girls finished their tour on a high with a close win over Tasmania.

After winning the toss and electing to bat, Tasmania got off to a poor start by losing opener Georgia Foote (5).

But the Tasmanian innings got underway with a scintillating 65 not out from Paris Crowe, who was ably supported by Meg Phillips (38), Maddison Smith (19) and Laura Tuson (17).

The wickets were shared for Auckland with Clare Mains, Khushboo Patel, Shyria Naidu and Skipper Lauren Down each bagging two scalps.

In reply, Auckland got off to a strong start with an opening partnership of 61 between Sacchi Shahri (47) and Francesca Wilkinson (17) before the latter was run out.

In the end, young keeper Natasha Van Tillburg belted a quickfire 21 before young players Yasmen Kareem (11*) and Kate Southee (13) guided their side home with 4 wickets and 2.2 overs to spare in a nailbiting encounter.

Betty Wilson Medal (Player of the Championships) – Chloe Piparo (WA) and Zoe Cooke (ACT)

Leading Run Scorer – Chloe Piparo (WA)

Leading Wicket Taker – Amanda-Jade Wellington (SA)

Award for most dismissals by a fielder – Lily Bardsley (NSW) and Jordan Doecke (SA)

Spirit of Cricket Award – South Australia


Team of the Championships

Chloe Piparo (WA)

Zoe Cooke (ACT)

Jenny Taffs (NSW)

Alex Price (SA)

Heather Graham (WA)

Meg Phillips (TAS)

Teagan Parker (VIC)

Amanda-Jade Wellington (SA)

Ashleigh Gardner (SA)

Alana King (VIC)

Sarah Chancellor-Goddard (VIC)

Janelle Rattenbury (TAS)

The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Cricket Australia

First Posted 23 January, 2013 9:40AM AEST

Commercial Partners