Cricket Australia Items/news/2013/10/18/aussies-aim-to-continue-indoor-dominance

Aussies aim to continue Indoor dominance

UPDATED 21 October, 2013 2:31PM AEST | by Cricket Australia 1

Five Australian indoor cricket teams across five divisions will aim to defend their World Cup titles when the 2013 Indoor Cricket Masters World Series begins in South Africa on Sunday.

Held in the Gauteng province of South Africa, the event will take place over seven days from Sunday 20 October 2013 and will see Australia take on New Zealand, England, India, South Africa and Singapore.

Cricket Australia’s Executive General Manager Game and Market Development Andrew Ingleton said Australians should feel very proud of our Indoor Cricket teams, who are world champions in all divisions.

“Australia has won every Indoor Cricket World Cup since its inception in 1995. During the last World Cup, held in Johannesburg in 2011, Australia won all four divisions - Men’s, Women’s, 19 and Under Boys and 19 and Under Girls and we wish our teams every success in South Africa,” Ingleton said.

“As Indoor Cricket continues to grow, our opposition improves but we’re confident our teams can ensure the World Cup trophies remains in Australia and I am sure they will represent the 200,000 Australians who play indoor cricket with pride and good sportsmanship.”

“At Cricket Australia we are also excited by the recent appointment of Paul Milo as our Indoor Cricket Manager. Paul will work closely with the various state and centre owner representatives to help grow Indoor Cricket, which is an integral part of the Australian cricket family and will help to achieve our vision for cricket to be Australia’s favourite sport.”

The Masters World Cup Series involves teams competing across various divisions including Men’s teams at Over 30, Over 35, Over 40 and Over 45 level together with the Over 30 Women’s division. All finals conclude on 26 October and will be live streamed.  

Stay updated on the 2013 Indoor Cricket Masters World Series, access the finals live stream link or find your local Indoor Cricket venue at

Team lists

Over 30s Mens
Coach Kevin Ala-Outinen QLD
Manager Grant MacQuarrie QLD
Rodney Bird VIC
Brett Collison NSW
Brett Wishart WA
David Dervan VIC
Paul Bathman QLD
Ben Ridgway NSW
Marty Baker QLD
Matt Fitt VIC
Russell Partridge NSW
Rick Lucey NSW
Michael Sullivan VIC
Shawn Thomas QLD

Over 30s Womens
Manager Tracy Dickson VIC
Coach Neil Mason VIC
Donna Dalby (Captain) QLD
Sammy Carlson VIC
Kerry Johnson VIC
Jody Cooper NSW
Renee Lee QLD
Dulane Carson QLD
Carmel Pendreigh QLD
Jenenne McKenzie NSW
Briony Polkinghorne VIC
Joanne Kelly NSW
Shelly Savage QLD

Over 35s Mens
Coach Brenton Brien QLD
Manager Cameron Walter ACT
Kerry Stewart QLD
Craig Bridgement NSW
Mark Hines QLD
Andy Clark NSW
Glynn Knox QLD
Chris Allen VIC
Joel Boucher QLD
Scott Rainbow WA
Matt Jenkins QLD
Tode Biracoski NSW
Will Badger WA
Grant Suthers QLD

Over 40s Mens
Coach Rod Jenkins QLD
Manager Sam Bright VIC
Merv Rudrum (Captain) WA
Pat Boyle (VC) QLD
Alex Kwong ACT
Jay Jeha QLD
Leigh Holt QLD
John Trela WA
Troy Pitt QLD
Roo Clayden WA
Jamie Evans WA
Craig Wildman NSW
Paul Devany NSW
Marty Bennet ACT

Over 45s Mens
Coach Peter Neville VIC
Manager Gary Brigginshaw QLD
Barry Morrison QLD
Andy Walton WA
John Short NSW Blues
Chris Henry ACT
James Shaban Nth QLD
Ted Hempstead ACT
Vaughan Leonard WA
Stephen Ahearn NSW Blues
Terry Atkinson VIC
Rob McInnes QLD
Mark Butler NSW Blues
Tony Plose VIC

The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Cricket Australia

First Posted 18 October, 2013 11:30AM AEST

Commercial Partners