Cricket Australia Items/news/2013/2/4/belinda-clark-award

Belinda Clark Award 2013

UPDATED 07 February, 2013 3:05PM AEST | by CATV 3

Jess Cameron sends back her acceptance mesage from the ICC Women's World Cup in India after winning the Belinda Clark Award at the Allan Border Medal 2013.

The Victorian polled 41 votes to beat fellow Victorian Meg Lanning (36 votes) and all-rounder Lisa Sthalekar (26).

The right-hand bat played a total of 15 matches in the voting period, amassing 525 runs at an average of 52.50 with a superb strike-rate of 118.51.

It is Cameron’s maiden Belinda Clark Award following retired all-rounder Shelley Nitschke’s four consecutive wins from 2009 to 2012.

The award caps a fantastic 12 months for Cameron. She won Player of the Match in the final of the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka last October. Her batting efforts helped Australia claim its second straight ICC World Twenty20 title with the match decided on the final ball.

It is also Lanning’s highest placing for the Belinda Clark Award after making her debut for Australia two years ago. Lanning’s impressive 12 months, which included 16 matches in the voting period, saw her make 768 runs at an average of 51.20.

The voting period for the award includes all one-day international and Twenty20 international matches played between 4 February 2012 to 19 December 2012.

Women’s International Player of the Year – Top 3
Jessica Cameron 41 votes
Meg Lanning  36
Lisa Sthalekar  26

Previous Winners
2002- Karen Rolton
2003- Karen Rolton
2004- Cathryn Fitzpatrick
2005- Karen Rolton
2006- Karen Rolton
2007- Lisa Sthalekar
2008- Lisa Sthalekar
2009- Shelley Nitschke
2010- Shelley Nitschke
2011- Shelley Nitschke
2012- Shelley Nitschke

The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Cricket Australia

First Posted 04 February, 2013 9:38PM AEST

Commercial Partners