Cricket Australia Items/news/2013/2/4/domestic-cricketer-of-the-year

Domestic Cricketer of the Year 2013

UPDATED 19 March, 2013 4:13PM AEST | by CATV 4

Phillip Hughes credits the move to South Australia for his great domestic form after winning Domestic Cricketer of the Year at the Allan Border Medal 2013.

Hughes received just over one third of player votes (33.8%) to edge out Tasmanian paceman Jackson Bird (29.1%) and former Australian skipper Ricky Ponting (17.6%), who started the domestic season in fine style.

Twenty-four year-old Hughes made a much-publicised move from New South Wales to South Australia prior to the 2012-2013 season. Equally talked about was the refinement to his technique as he strived for reinstatement in the Australian team.

His return of 1,108 domestic runs during the voting period speaks volumes for Hughes’ resurgence. He currently heads the list of run-scorers in the Bupa Sheffield Shield competition and sits in second place in the RYOBI One-Day Cup.

His superb form in domestic ranks earned him a Test recall and ODI selection for the first time. Two centuries in his first five ODIs is the best-ever return for an Australian batsman at the start of his international limited overs career.

Hughes’ Domestic Player of the Year honour follows his success in winning the Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year award in 2009.

His highest score for the voting period was 158 in the Bupa Sheffield Shield match against Victoria at the MCG for South Australia. The aggressive top order batsman now boasts 21 centuries at first-class level.

In the RYOBI Cup his best was 114 against Tasmania, while in his only innings for the Adelaide Strikers, he made a whirlwind 74 from just 48 deliveries against the Perth Scorchers at the WACA.

All Australian-based Cricket Australia, State and Big Bash League contracted players were given one vote to select the best player across the three major Australian domestic competitions (Bupa Sheffield Shield, RYOBI Cup and KFC T20 Big Bash League) for the period from 12 February 2012 to 19 January 2013. Players cannot vote for their teammates.

Prior to 2012 the award was known as the State Player of the Year.

Domestic Player of the Year – Top 3
Phil Hughes  33.8% of player votes
Jackson Bird  29.1%
Ricky Ponting  17.6%

Previous Winners
2000 - Darren Lehmann (South Australia)
2001 - Darren Lehmann (South Australia)
2002 - Darren Lehmann (South Australia)
2003 - Martin Love (Queensland)
2004 - Simon Katich (New South Wales)
2005 - Andy Bichel (Queensland)
2006 - Phil Jaques (New South Wales)
2007 - Chris Rogers (Western Australia)
2008 - Ashley Noffke (Queensland)
2009 - Michael Klinger (South Australia)
2010 - Michael Klinger (South Australia)
2011 - Usman Khawaja (New South Wales)
2012 - Bobby Quiney (Victoria/Melbourne Stars)

The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Cricket Australia

First Posted 04 February, 2013 9:35PM AEST

Commercial Partners