Cricket Australia Items/news/2013/2/8/t20i-squad-announced

Rohrer, Hazlewood in KFC T20 INTL squad

UPDATED 08 February, 2013 3:52PM AEST | by Cricket Australia 30

The Cricket Australia (CA) National Selection Panel (NSP) has today announced a 12-player Australia squad for the KFC T20 INTL match against West Indies at the Gabba next Wednesday.

Australian squad:

George Bailey (Hurricanes)
Aaron Finch (Renegades)
Brad Haddin (Sixers)
Josh Hazlewood (Sixers)
Ben Laughlin (Hurricanes)
Clint McKay (Stars)
Shaun Marsh (Scorchers)
Ben Rohrer (Renegades)
Adam Voges (Scorchers)

Commenting on the squad, National Selector John Inverarity said:

“There are five new faces in the squad to play the West Indies in Brisbane on 13 February; Brad Haddin, Ben Rohrer, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Clint McKay and Josh Hazlewood, although Haddin and McKay have previously played for Australia in the T20 format.

“David Warner was not available due to his injured thumb while Matthew Wade, Mitchell Starc, Glenn Maxwell and Xavier Doherty will be in India preparing for the Test Series there.

“Ben Rohrer had an outstanding season with the Melbourne Renegades in the middle order and Nathan Coulter-Nile has shown very good form in all three formats throughout the summer.

“Brad Haddin and Clint McKay are experienced campaigners and Josh Hazlewood is one of our very promising young pace bowlers who has recently regained full fitness.

“With the Test squad being in India this fixture will provide some more players with invaluable international experience.”

The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Cricket Australia

First Posted 08 February, 2013 11:00AM AEST

Commercial Partners