Cricket Australia Items/news/2013/3/20/aca-all-star-teams

ACA All*Star teams announced

UPDATED 20 March, 2013 2:00PM AEST | by Cricket Australia 20

The Australian Cricketers’ Association (ACA) All*Star Teams for the 2012-13 season were announced at Cricket Australia’s (CA) State Cricket Awards at Blundstone Arena today ahead of Friday’s Sheffield Shield final between Tasmania and Queensland in Hobart.

In addition to teams being named for the Four-Day, One-Day and Big Bash League competitions, for the first time teams were named for the Women’s National Cricket League (WNCL) and Women’s Twenty20 (WT20).

Selection was determined by a vote of contracted Australian, State and Rookie players. Players could not vote for members of their own squad and eligibility was restricted to players who had played at least half the number of games in the relevant competition.

Veteran Ricky Ponting proved this season that he still has plenty of good cricket left in him, and was named captain of the ACA Four-Day Series All*Star Team of the Year.

Aaron Finch’s outstanding short-form performances saw him named as skipper of the ACA All*Star Teams for both the One-Day Interstate and Big Bash League competitions.

Alex Blackwell capped a terrific WNCL campaign to be named as leader of both the ACA WNCL and WT20 All*Star Teams of the Year.

ACA 4-Day Series All*Star Team of the Year
1.    Chris Rogers (VIC)
2.    Phillip Hughes (SA)
3.    Alex Doolan (TAS)
4.    Ricky Ponting (TAS) CAPTAIN
5.    Callum Ferguson (SA)
6.    Moises Henriques (NSW)
7.    Brad Haddin (NSW) VICE CAPTAIN
8.    Ashton Agar (WA)
9.    Luke Butterworth (TAS)
10.    Chadd Sayers (SA)
11.    Jackson Bird (TAS)
12.     Mark Cosgrove (TAS)

ACA One-Day Interstate All*Star Team of the Year
1.    Aaron Finch (VIC) CAPTAIN
2.    Phillip Hughes (SA)
3.    Callum Ferguson (SA)
4.    David Hussey (VIC)
5.    Steve Smith (NSW)
6.    Brad Haddin (NSW)
7.    James Faulkner (TAS)
8.    Johan Botha (SA) VICE CAPTAIN
9.    Nathan Coulter-Nile (WA)
10.    John Hastings (VIC)
11.    Kane Richardson (SA)
12.    Gurinder Sandhu (NSW)

ACA Big Bash League All*Star Team of the Year    
1.    Shaun Marsh (PERTH SCORCHERS)
3.    Brad Hodge (MELBOURNE STARS)
4.    Ricky Ponting (HOBART HURRICANES)
8.    James Faulkner (MELBOURNE STARS)
9.    Ben Laughlin (HOBART HURRICANES)
10.    Lasith Malinga (MELBOURNE STARS)
11.    Muttiah Muralitharan (MELBOURNE RENEGADES)
12.    Dirk Nannes (SYDNEY THUNDER)

ACA WNCL All*Star Team of the Year
1.    Meg Lanning (VIC)
2.    Nicole Bolton (WA)
3.    Alex Blackwell (NSW) CAPTAIN
4.    Jess Cameron (VIC)
5.    Jodie Fields (QLD) VICE CAPTAIN
6.    Lisa Sthalekar (NSW)
7.    Lauren Ebsary (SA)
8.    Erin Osborne (NSW)
9.    Jude Coleman (QLD)
10.     Jemma Barsby (QLD)
11.    Holly Ferling (QLD)
12.    Elyse Villani (VIC)

ACA WT20 All*Star Team of the Year
1.    Meg Lanning (VIC)
2.    Leah Poulton (NSW)
3.    Alex Blackwell (NSW) CAPTAIN
4.    Erin Burns (TAS)
5.    Jodie Fields (QLD) VICE CAPTAIN
6.    Lisa Sthalekar (NSW)
7.    Lauren Ebsary (SA)
8.    Sarah Coyte (NSW)
9.    Briana Binch (VIC)
10.    Sarah Aley (NSW)
11.    Molly Strano (VIC)
12.     Jess Cameron (VIC)

The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Cricket Australia

First Posted 20 March, 2013 2:00PM AEST

Commercial Partners