Cricket Australia Items/news/2013/4/3/contracted-players-list

2013/14 CA Contracted players

UPDATED 04 April, 2013 6:52PM AEST | by Cricket Australia 219

Cricket Australia (CA) today advised the CA contracted players for 2013-2014.

The National Selection Panel (NSP) has chosen 20 players for the 2013-14 contract list.

The Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the Australian Cricketers Association (ACA) enables the NSP to select between 17 and 20 players for the contract list.

Last year 17 players were initially selected for the contracted players list, with an additional nine players upgraded to contracts during the season, having fulfilled the playing requirements to warrant an upgrade. At the conclusion of the 2012-13 season 26 players held CA playing contracts.

Note: Australian captain Michael Clarke is not part of this decision making process. John Inverarity, Rod Marsh, Andy Bichel and Mickey Arthur were the NSP members who formulated the list.

The 2013/14 Cricket Australia contracted players are:

Name State Age
George Bailey
TAS 30
Michael Clarke
NSW 32
Ed Cowan
TAS 30
Patrick Cummins
NSW 19
Xavier Doherty
TAS 30
James Faulkner
TAS 22
Brad Haddin
NSW 35
Ryan Harris
QLD 33
Ben Hilfenhaus
TAS 30
Phillip Hughes
SA 24
Mitchell Johnson
WA 31
Nathan Lyon
SA 25
Glenn Maxwell
VIC 24
Clint McKay
VIC 30
James Pattinson
VIC 22
Peter Siddle
VIC 28
Mitchell Starc
NSW 23
Matthew Wade
VIC 25
David Warner
NSW 26
Shane Watson
NSW 31

 *Age is at 3 April 2013

Speaking about the contract list, National Selector John Inverarity said: “The National Selection Panel has chosen a group of players who have performed well in the past 12 months and who we expect to feature prominently in the Australian Test, ODI and T20I sides for the 2013-14 season.

“Of the 20 players on the 2013-14 contract list all currently hold a CA playing contract. The 17 players initially contracted for the 2012-13 season played a significant role in selections across the various formats during the season. Those upgraded to the contract list during the season all proved their worth.

“Six of the nine players upgraded to the contract list during the 2012-13 season have been rewarded with contracts for the full 2013-14 season, these being George Bailey, Ed Cowan, James Faulkner, Phillip Hughes, Glenn Maxwell and Clint McKay. All of these players staked their claims for a contract for the 2013-14 period by way of their performances and the expectation of the role they will play during the coming 12 months.

“Phillip Hughes has made a lot of runs throughout the past 12 months and is a young player who we are looking to become a reliable and prolific run-scorer, while Ed Cowan worked hard in the last 12 months to earn an upgrade and the panel feel that he is deserving of selection on this list for the coming year.

“George Bailey has been one of our most successful ODI batsmen since he debuted in that format in March 2012. Clint McKay’s success as an ODI player was reflected in him being awarded Australia’s One Day Player of The Year at the Allan Border Medal.

“The National Selection Panel is very impressed by the manner in which James Faulkner has been performing and developing. He is a very competitive young man who consistently manages to have an impact on games with both bat and ball.

“Glenn Maxwell is a talented young player who has had opportunity invested in him. He is very aware that he needs to tighten his game and perform with greater impact and consistency.

“In addition, Xavier Doherty continues to be Australia’s first choice ODI spin bowler. Mitchell Johnson is an experienced fast bowler who is part of our one-day cricket plans and will be part of our ongoing Ashes discussions. Ben Hilfenhaus played all three forms of the game for Australia last year and he provides an experienced option for us in a busy year of cricket ahead. 

“Jackson Bird, Moises Henriques, Usman Khawaja and Steve Smith were all very close to making this contract list and we expect them to take opportunities that are presented across formats to represent Australia and make a case for an upgrade to a CA contract, as the year unfolds.

“Aaron Finch hasn’t made the contract list on this occasion but the NSP hopes he will make a case for future inclusion through his performances.

“There are three players from last year’s initial contract list who have not been given a contract for 2013-14, these being Ricky Ponting, Mike Hussey and David Hussey. The former two have retired from international cricket, while David Hussey has been omitted from the contract list.”

The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Cricket Australia

First Posted 03 April, 2013 1:00PM AEST

Commercial Partners