Cricket Australia Items/news/2013/6/24/india-win-champions-trophy

India win Champions Trophy

UPDATED 24 June, 2013 9:21AM AEST | 6

India lifted the ICC Champions Trophy for the second time as they beat England by five runs in the final at Edgbaston on Sunday.

The hosts were set 130 to win in a match that was reduced to 20 overs after rain delayed the start by almost six hours.

And they looked primed for victory when Eoin Morgan (33) and Ravi Bopara (30) accelerated the run-rate to take England on to 4-110.

But Ishant Sharma dismissed Morgan and Bopara in consecutive balls in the 17th over to inspire India to a remarkable turnaround.

Early wickets gave the home nation some early momentum but 31 from Shikhar Dhawan helped lift India to 2-50 before three quick wickets left them 5-66 as Dinesh Karthik, Suresh Raina and MS Dhoni all departed.

However, 43 from Virat Kohli and an unbeaten 33 from Ravindra Jadeja lifted their score to a competitive 7-129.

England's reply started badly as they lost Alastair Cook in the second over, but Jonathan Trott and Ian Bell steadied the ship.

Both men, and Joe Root, departed to leave them in trouble at 4-46. A 64-run partnership between Morgan and Bopara ensued.

England were left needing 15 off the last over with two wickets in hand and they came up five runs short.

Dhoni's side completed a remarkable victory with some excellent bowling at the death by Ravichandran Ashwin, giving them their second title and their first as sole winners having shared the trophy with Sri Lanka in 2002.

The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Cricket Australia

First Posted 24 June, 2013 7:45AM AEST

Commercial Partners