Cricket Australia Items/news/2013/6/7/clarke-ruled-out-for-england-match

Clarke ruled out for England match

UPDATED 07 June, 2013 4:42PM AEST | by Cricket Australia 6

Australian captain Michael Clarke has been ruled out of his side's first group match of the ICC Champions Trophy against England.

Cricket Australia Physiotherapist Alex Kountouris said: “Michael is making steady progress in his recovery from the recent lower back injury but is yet to return to training. He will remain in London over the coming days to continue his rehabilitation and will not be available for the first match against England on Saturday. How he responds to the ongoing treatment will determine his availability for the match against New Zealand next Wednesday.”

The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Cricket Australia

First Posted 07 June, 2013 4:45PM AEST

Commercial Partners