Cricket Australia Items/news/2013/7/30/icc-world-cup-2015-details-announced

ICC World Cup 2015 details announced

UPDATED 06 February, 2014 12:37AM AEST | by ICC Cricket World Cup 2015

Auckland and Sydney to stage semi-finals; Melbourne gets final.

Australia will host the final of the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2015.

Details of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015, which will be jointly hosted with New Zealand, were announced today at simultaneous events in Melbourne and the New Zealand capital, Wellington. The Prime Ministers from both countries as well as a number of local and international cricketing legends were in attendance.

The event, the first to be staged in Australia and New Zealand since 1992, will be held from 14 February to 29 March and will see 14 cities throughout the two countries host 49 matches over 44 days.

Speaking in Melbourne, Prime Minister Kevin Rudd highlighted the benefits in terms of tourism and trade that would come from hosting the battle for cricket’s biggest prize.

“This is one of the biggest events in world sport,” Mr Rudd said.  “It will attract cricket fans from around the globe and also promote Australia and our close friend New Zealand internationally -especially in India and other parts of south Asia.”

The tournament has become one of the most viewed international sporting events in the world.

Chief executive of the Local Organising Committee, John Harnden, said ticket prices would not be announced until later in the year but would be affordable.

“This tournament is about the best teams, the best players and their endurance and skills that will see only the best left standing. We want as many fans as possible to be a part of this rare event,” Mr Harnden said.

“Australia has such a diverse community who are very passionate about their heritage and, in many cases, very passionate about cricket. We’ll be working hard in local communities to ensure that they can follow their teams, attend matches and play a part in the event in 2015.”

Fans can register for the latest information at

The 14 host cities are: Adelaide, Auckland, Brisbane, Canberra, Christchurch, Dunedin, Napier, Nelson, Hamilton, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth, Sydney and Wellington.

If Australia qualifies for the quarter finals it will play that match at Adelaide Oval.If New Zealand team qualifies for the quarter finals it will play that match in Wellington.  Other quarter-finalists will be allocated to venues at the end of the pool stage by the Event Technical Committee based on travel and rest requirements.

Should Australia go on to qualify for the semi-final it will play that match at the SCG unless it is playing New Zealand, in which case the team finishing higher in the pool stage will have home ground advantage.

The two pools for the initial stage of the tournament, based on the Reliance ICC ODI rankings on 31 December 2012 are:

  • Pool A: England, Australia, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Qualifier 2 and Qualifier 3
  • Pool B: South Africa, India, Pakistan, West Indies Zimbabwe, Ireland and Qualifier 4

As a result, Australia and New Zealand are in the same pool.  Australia will travel to New Zealand to play the Blackcaps at Eden Park on 28 February while if New Zealand makes it through to the final it will play in Melbourne on 29 March.  This means all of the teams in the tournament will have to play in both countries if they want to lift the trophy.

Christchurch, still rebuilding from the devastating earthquake in 2011, will host the opening match at Hagley Oval. The first match in Australia, later on the same day, will see the MCG host traditional rivals Australia and England.

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson, who attended the event launch in Melbourne, said: “The ICC Cricket World Cup is the flagship tournament of the 50-over game.  The 2015 tournament will mark 40 years since the first World Cup in 1975 and that history of great contests and heroes helps make the tournament what it is – the most sought after prize in our increasingly global game.

“The ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 will be returning to Australia and New Zealand after 23 years and will be staged at the back of two outstanding 50-over ICC events – the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 and ICC Champions Trophy 2013.

“I’m absolutely confident that the success of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 will further strengthen the status of 50-over cricket as a successful and viable format alongside Tests and Twenty20 Internationals.”

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 is contested by the 10 Full Members of the International Cricket Council (ICC), together with four Associate and Affiliate Members that qualify through the ICC Cricket World Cup qualifying programme.

The results of the Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Championship 2011-2013 will produce the first two qualifying teams, with Ireland already progressing to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 earlier this year and one other qualifier to be known by October. The final two spots will be determined through the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier to be hosted in New Zealand during January and February 2014.

Full details of on the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 and tournament qualifying are available at , where fans can also register for ticketing news and other tournament updates. 

Ticketing information including tiers and packages will be released later this year.

First Posted 30 July, 2013 10:00AM AEST

Commercial Partners