Cricket Australia Items/news/2013/7/31/stars-depart-for-womens-ashes

Stars depart for Women's Ashes

UPDATED 31 July, 2013 4:43PM AEST | by Cricket Australia

The Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars will depart for their defence of the Women’s Ashes in England tomorrow.

This will be the first Women’s Ashes Series to adopt the new points system that takes into account performances in the three formats of the game. The winner of the Women’s Ashes will be the team who wins the most points across the one Test, three One Day Internationals (ODIs) and three Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is).  

Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars captain Jodie Fields said she was looking forward to taking on traditional rivals England on their home turf.

“Cricket contests between Australia and England have a special place in the hearts and minds of the players and the public. To pull on a Baggy Green and play Test cricket for Australia is a great honour and something all players strive for,” Fields said

“Our squad has a good mixture of youth and experience and the tour will provide an opportunity for players to compete across the three formats of the game.

“We are looking forward to a competitive series against England and we will do everything in our power to retain the Women’s Ashes.”

The Cricket Australia Women’s National Selection Panel (WNSP) today advised that Gemma Triscari has been added to the Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars squad for the Women’s Ashes Series in England.

Commenting on the decision, WNSP Chair Julie Savage said: “Gemma has been added to the squad so that we have adequate cover for our pace bowlers during the early part of the tour.” 

The Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars are the current Ashes holders, having reclaimed the trophy in Sydney in 2011. Of the 18 Women’s Ashes Series that have been played since its inception in 1934-35, Australia have won seven, England have won four and seven series have been drawn.

The Player-of-the-Series will be awarded the Peden-Archdale Medal, which is named after the two captains in the first women’s Test between Australia and England in 1934-35, namely Margaret Peden (Australia) and Betty Archdale (England). The Medal was first awarded in the 1999-2000 series.

Former Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars all-rounder Lisa Sthalekar will provide expert analysis throughout the series for Sthalekar retired following the side’s World Cup Final victory in February this year and has an in-depth knowledge of both sides. 

Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars squad



Jodie Fields (C)


Alex Blackwell (VC)


Jess Cameron


Sarah Coyte


Sarah Elliott (Test only)


Holly Ferling


Rachael Haynes


Alyssa Healy


Julie Hunter


Jess Jonassen


Meg Lanning


Erin Osborne


Ellyse Perry


Megan Schutt


Gemma Triscari


Elyse Villani


Note: Jemma Barsby will join the squad after the Test in a development role.

Click here for the series schedule

Stay up-to-date throughout the tour via Twitter at @SouthernStars 

First Posted 31 July, 2013 4:29PM AEST

Commercial Partners