Llong got DRS decision wrong: ICC | cricket.com.au

Advertisement

Llong got DRS decision wrong: ICC

Governing body confirm third umpire made an error but followed the correct procedure

The International Cricket Council has confirmed Nigel Llong made the wrong call on the controversial Nathan Lyon DRS incident in the day-night Test in Adelaide.

The ICC's media Twitter account announced the news, saying Llong made an incorrect judgement, but that the former English first-class player had followed the correct protocol. 

The incident occurred on day two of the historic day-night Test at the Adelaide Oval when New Zealand were convinced that Lyon was out caught after the batsman's top-edged sweep shot ballooned off his shoulder to Kane Williamson at second slip, but standing umpire S Ravi ruled that bat did not make contact with ball.

Black Caps captain Brendon McCullum immediately asked for a review and was shocked when Llong upheld the on-field decision despite evidence on Hot Spot showing a mark on Lyon's bat.

WATCH: Lyon in the middle of DRS controversy

Llong employed the full suite of technology available while making his decision, including Hot Spot, super slow-motion, ball-tracking in case of lbw and real-time snicko – the latter appearing to be what spared Lyon.

Real-time snicko, often the most reliable tool for detecting an edge, showed no sign of contact as ball passed bat, and despite Hot Spot showing a mark on the batsman's blade, Llong said on audio that spot "could come from anywhere – from a flare".

Australia were 8-116 at the time of the controversial decision, trailing by 86 runs on the first innings, with Lyon still yet to score and only a hobbling Mitchell Starc left to bat.

Lyon went on to make 34 and Starc, on one foot, clubbed 24 off 15 balls to give Australia a crucial 22-run first-innings lead.

Following the match, Black Caps coach Mike Hesson said the tourists had asked match referee Roshan Mahanama for clarification on the ruling.

"We're going through the proper channels and we're awaiting a response," Hesson said.

"There is a process that needs to be followed with these decisions and we need to make sure that process was followed correctly."

Ross Taylor, who standing at first slip when Williamson took the catch, said Llong's gaffe had a "big bearing" on the outcome.

"The players were pretty confident it was out, the Hot Spot they showed up (on the big screen), Lyon walking off and nearly getting to the boundary," Taylor said after play on day two.

"I think it’s had a big bearing on the match.

"We can understand when the umpires make the wrong decision on the field, but once you’ve got so many different angles and whatnot, you would think that 90 to 100 per cent of the time you’re going to get the right answer.

"But I guess we didn’t today."