Finch ruled out of India tour match

Calf injury sidelines Finch for tour match, but no doubt for Sunday's series opener

Opener Aaron Finch will sit out Australia's one-day tour game in Chennai on Tuesday as he continues to manage a calf injury.

The right-hander is not in any doubt for the ODI series opener against India on Sunday, but the Aussies have taken a conservative approach by resting him for the match against a Board President's XI at Chepauk Stadium, their only warm-up game of the tour.

Allrounder Hilton Cartwight missed Monday's training session due to illness and is also in doubt, with a decision on his participation to be made on Tuesday morning.

Finch injured his calf playing for Surrey in England six weeks ago and has been working closely with physiotherapist Alex Kountouris over the past two days in order to be fit for Sunday's series opener.

Ashes spots up for grabs in India

All fit members of Australia's squad are expected to play some role against the President's XI on Tuesday; the match is not an official List A fixture meaning each team can field more than 11 players and the locals have named a 14-man squad.

The Australians have an in-depth knowledge of several President's XI players; Steve Smith captained batsmen Rahul Tripathi and Mayank Agarwal as well as spinner Washington Sundar at Rising Pune Supergiant in the Indian Premier League this year while President's XI skipper Gurkeerat Singh and fast bowler Sandeep Sharma were teammates of Glenn Maxwell and Marcus Stoinis at Kings XI Punjab.

The local side have also named Mumbai Indians batsman Nitish Rana, who enjoyed a breakout IPL campaign this year, and ambidextrous spinner Akshay Karnewar.

Rana's rise no surprise: Ponting

Temperatures in the low 30s and humidity of up to 80 per cent are set to test the stamina of the Australian players for the day game, which will get underway at 10am local time (2.30pm AEST).

While conditions in the south-eastern state of Tamil Nadu are nowhere near as oppressive as those in Bangladesh for the recent Test series, the Aussies were clearly feeling the heat during a three-hour training session on Monday.

"It's tough conditions here ... I've just come from training and I'm still sweating," allrounder James Faulkner said after practice.

"We're eagar to get out there (on Tuesday) and it's going to be a good series.

"We have to acclimatise to the conditions. I'm looking forward to getting out there in the heat, playing well, bowling some variations and getting through the game with a solid performance." will provide highlights, live updates and a full report from Australia's match against the President's XI on Tuesday


President's XI squad: Gurkeerat Mann (c), Rahul Tripathi, Mayank Agarwal, Shivam Chaudhary, Washington Sundar, Nitish Rana, Govind Poddar, Shreevats Gowsami, Rahil Shah, Ashkay Karnewar, Kulwant Khejroliya, Kushang Patel, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Sharma

Australia squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner, Ashton Agar, Hilton Cartwright (subject to fitness), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Patrick Cummins, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch (injured), Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.

Australia's Qantas Tour of India

Australia ODI squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner, Ashton Agar, Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Patrick Cummins, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.

Australia T20 squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner, Jason Behrendorff, Dan Christian, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Patrick Cummins, Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Glenn Maxwell, Tim Paine, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa.

India squad (first three ODIs): Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami.

ODI Fixtures

September 17: MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai

September 21: Eden Gardens, Kolkata

September 24: Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore

September 28: M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

October 1: VCA Stadium, Nagpur

T20 Fixtures

October 1: JSCA International Stadium, Ranchi

October 10: Barsapara Stadium, Guwahati

October 13: Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad