Rebel WBBL|03

Strikers on cloud nine for WBBL|03

Adelaide Strikers have re-signed Australia stars among a list of local talent

Mike Cranmer

27 September 2017, 02:29 PM AEST

Australia bowlers Megan Schutt and Amanda Wellington headline nine Adelaide Strikers' re-signings for the Rebel WBBL this summer.

Seamer Schutt - who has been a mainstay in Australia's limited-overs teams - took 13 wickets in WBBL|02 at the impressive average of 17.15, while leg-spinner Wellington performed well for the Strikers after making her international prior to the tournament.

Wellington takes four to restrict New Zealand

Despite several player movements prior to WBBL|03, Strikers coach Andrea McCauley said she was always confident that Schutt and Wellington would remain in Adelaide and form a strong core group of players that already includes New Zealand international Sophie Devine.

"I like to think the girls enjoy the environment that we are providing and they seem really proud to continue to represent their hometown," McCauley said.

"Amanda is a dangerous player and has that x-factor about her and Megan is certainly a quality bowler who is really the lead new-ball bowler in the country."

The Strikers' quick bowling stocks will be bolstered by the return of Samantha Betts, allrounder Tahlia McGrath and left-armer Katelyn Pope.

Spinner Alex Price also re-joins the side, while Tabatha Saville, Tegan McPharlin and Bridget Patterson will form part of Adelaide's batting group.

Devine leads Strikers to easy victory

"There is certainly plenty to be excited about with the rest of the squad, too," McCauley said.

"Bridget Patterson is a quality batter and Katelyn Pope has been working hard on her bowling, while Sam Betts has recovered from stress fractures and is fitter than she has ever been.

"There is plenty of talent rolling around and it's great that these girls have re-signed and want to be a part of the squad again this year."

The Strikers will begin WBBL|03 with a double-header against Hobart Hurricanes at Gliderol Stadium in Adelaide on December 9 & 10.

WBBL|03 Adelaide Strikers squad:

Sophie Devine, Megan Schutt, Amanda Wellington, Samantha Betts, Tahlia McGrath, Katelyn Pope, Alex Price, Tabatha Saville, Tegan McPharlin, Bridget Patterson.