SL appoint Donald fast-bowling coach

Proteas legend takes consultancy role with subcontinent nation for ICC Champions Trophy

South African pace legend Allan Donald has joined Sri Lanka as an interim bowling coach ahead of the Champions Trophy in England.

Donald, 50, signs on as "consultant fast bowling coach" for two months in the run-up to the tournament starting on June 1, the Sri Lankan board said.

Quick Single: ICC Champions Trophy: All the squads

"Donald will join the team in their residential training at the Pallekele International Stadium where they will be undergoing a high-intensity training and conditioning programme from May 9-16," a release read.

The Proteas great, who is due to take up a coaching assignment with English county Kent next year, is due in Colombo on Monday.

Wizard Warner blasts epic IPL ton

Kent said Donald would join them in 2018 because of delays in obtaining a work permit, with Australian Jason Gillespie currently occupying that role.

Donald, who took 330 Test wickets during a career that spanned 1992-2002, worked with Australia last August-September during their tour of Sri Lanka.

Quick Single: Malinga, Mathews back for Sri Lanka

Prior to that, he worked with the South Africa national side between 2011-15 and also spent time with Royal Challengers Bangalore in the Indian Premier League.

The man nicknamed 'White Lightning' also has considerable experience in England as both player and coach; he took 27 wickets at 19.37 in 14 ODIs there as well as enjoying a lengthy stint at county side Warwickshire, going on to coach the side to Division Two success in 2008.  

Last week Sri Lanka named a 15-member squad led by Angelo Mathews for the Champions Trophy.

Sri Lanka Cricket said it hoped Donald would play a role in training Sri Lankan pace bowling coaches Chaminda Vaas, Champaka Ramanayake, Ravindra Pushpakumara and Nuwan Zoysa.

Champions Trophy 2017 Guide

Squads: Every Champions Trophy squad named so far

Group A: Australia, New Zealand, England, Bangladesh.

Group B: India, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Pakistan.


Warm-up matches

26 May – Australia v Sri Lanka, The Oval

27 May – Bangladesh v Pakistan, Edgbaston

28 May – India v New Zealand, The Oval

29 May – Australia v Pakistan, Edgbaston

30 May – New Zealand v Sri Lanka, Edgbaston

30 May – Bangladesh vs India, The Oval


1 June – England v Bangladesh, The Oval (Day)

2 June – Australia v New Zealand, Edgbaston (D)

3 June – Sri Lanka v South Africa, The Oval (D)

4 June – India v Pakistan, Edgbaston (D)

5 June – Australia v Bangladesh, The Oval (D/N)

6 June – England v New Zealand, Cardiff (D)

7 June – Pakistan v South Africa, Edgbaston (D/N)

8 June – India v Sri Lanka, The Oval (D)

9 June – New Zealand v Bangladesh, Cardiff (D)

10 June – England v Australia, Edgbaston (D)

11 June – India v South Africa, The Oval (D)

12 June – Sri Lanka v Pakistan, Cardiff (D)

14 June – First semi-final (A1 v B2), Cardiff (D)

15 June – Second semi-final (A2 v B1), Edgbaston (D)

18 June – Final, The Oval (D)

19 June – Reserve day (D)

Tickets on sale May 8