Qantas Tour of NZ 2018

Aussies cap two for tri-series opener

Aussie legend and assistant coach Ricky Ponting presents caps as Australia prepare to face Black Caps in Sydney

Cricket Network

3 February 2018, 06:46 PM AEST

Strap yourselves in for the T20I tri-series!

Wicketkeeper Alex Carey and batsman D'Arcy Short will make their T20 international debuts in tonight's Gillette T20 INT tri-series opener against New Zealand at the SCG. 

Carey, who made his international debut in the one-day series against England in Brisbane last month, and Short will both fly to Adelaide in the morning for Sunday's KFC Big Bash League Final, before heading to Hobart on Monday ahead of the series' second game against England. 

Australia legend, former captain and current assistant coach for this series, Ricky Ponting, handed out the caps.

Australia captain David Warner, standing in for Steve Smith, won the toss and opted to bowl first. 

"Great young inclusions, and they're both in fine form," Warner said of the debutants at the toss.

The Australia teamsheet confirmed Warner and Short would open the batting with Aaron Finch sidelined by injury. Brisbane Heat master blaster Chris Lynn will come in at No.3 ahead of Glenn Maxwell and Marcus Stoinis in a power-packed top five.

Carey, who opened all but one game that he played for the Adelaide Strikers, will bat six. Interestingly, the Strikers used Carey in that position in his final BBL match before joining the Australia squad in a bid to acclimatise him to the middle-order role.

Australia also have two slow-bowling options in the XI with Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa both selected, while Andrew Tye, Kane Richardson and Billy Stanlake will add the pace. 

The New Zealanders bring a strong T20 side across the Tasman, with newly crowned world No.1 ranked T20 bowler Mitchell Santner, ahead of the man he deposed, Ish Sodhi who is now ranked No.3 behind Adelaide's Afghanistan sensation Rashid Khan.

Colin Munro battled injuy in the Black Caps' 2-1 series defeat to Paksitan at home last month and has slipped to No.4 in the world rankings. Australia's Maxwell is the No.2 ranked allrounder.

"It's a great opportunity to lead a younger team," Warner said yesterday.

"Having experienced players be here with the team as well – you need some form of experience.

"It's going to be tough and challenging when you play all three forms but you’re always … giving 100 per cent.

Ponting analyses Laughlin v Pollard showdown

"With some new fresh faces with the guys who are in form and been selected to be here, it’s exciting.

"I can’t be any happier with the way we’ve prepared."

Australia XI: David Warner (c), D'Arcy Short, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey (wk), Ashton Agar, Andrew Tye, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa, Billy Stanlake.

New Zealand XI: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (c), Tom Bruce, Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhomme, Tom Blundell (wk), Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult.

Gillette T20 trans-Tasman Tri-Series

Australia squad: David Warner (c), Aaron Finch (vc), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Ben Dwarshuis, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, D'Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

England squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, David Willey, Mark Wood.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Anaru Kitchen, Colin Munro, Seth Rance, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Ben Wheeler. 

PM's XI v England Manuka Oval, February 2. Tickets

First T20I Australia v NZ, SCG, February 3. Tickets

Second T20I Australia v England, Blundstone Arena, February 7. Tickets

Third T20I Australia v England, MCG, February 10. Tickets

Fourth T20I NZ v England, Wellington, February 14

Fifth T20I NZ v Australia, Eden Park, February 16

Sixth T20I NZ v England, Seddon Park, February 18

Final TBC, Eden Park, February 21