Qantas Tour of England - ODIs

Short makes one-day debut in Cardiff

Australia to bowl first in second ODI while England have suffered a major blow with captain Eoin Morgan ruled out

Laura Jolly

16 June 2018, 07:00 PM AEST

Explosive batsman D’Arcy Short will make his one-day international debut in the second match of Australia’s Qantas Tour of the United Kingdom, while England will be without captain Eoin Morgan, who has been ruled out with a back spasm.

Australia will bowl first after Tim Paine won the toss, while Jos Buttler will lead England in Morgan's absence. 

Short, who was presented with ODI cap No.226 by Adam Gilchrist ahead of the toss, is one of two inclusions in the Australia XI alongside paceman Jhye Richardson. They come into the XI in place of quick Billy Stanlake, who was nursing a lacerated big toe leading into the match in Cardiff, and fellow fast bowler Michael Neser.

Stanlake suffered the cut while bowling in the first ODI at The Oval on Wednesday and was restricted to spectating at the side’s training session at Sophia Gardens ahead of the second ODI.

The changes leave Australia’s bowling attack with three quicks in Andrew Tye, Kane Richardson and Jhye Richardson, alongside spinner Ashton Agar.

Sam Billings comes into the England XI in place of Morgan. 

Short’s inclusion bolsters an Australian batting line-up that largely failed to fire in the opening match, when the tourists were bundled out for just 214.

It was Australia's lowest all-out total against England when batting first after winning the toss and was never going to be enough – despite an England wobble in the chase – to win the game.

One batsmen who did impress was Glenn Maxwell, who struck 62 from 64 balls at The Oval.

On Friday, Maxwell implored his team to take a more controlled approach into the second match.

"We just have to control those overs straight after the Power Play a little bit better," Maxwell said.

"Even in the practice games, from overs 10 to 15 or 20, there was a little bit of a stall in the game, spin was able to make its way in to the game and have an effect against us.

"When we are playing well we are able to put a little bit of pressure on – not play reckless cricket - but put them under a little bit of pressure to bring the quicks back on, or just a change of bowling.

"The disappointing thing about (the first ODI) there was a really good opportunity there, I went out with 13 overs left, I could have controlled the back end of the innings."

England XI: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler (c,wk), Moeen Ali, David Wiley, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood  

Australia XI: D'Arcy Short, Travis Head, Shaun Marsh, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Aaron Finch, Tim Paine (c,wk), Ashton Agar, Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye, Kane Richardson

Qantas tours of England and Zimbabwe

ODI squad: Tim Paine (c), Aaron Finch (vc), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Travis Head, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye

England ODI squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes (injured), David Willey, Chris Woakes (injured), Mark Wood

T20 squad: Aaron Finch (c), Alex Carey (vc), Ashton Agar, Travis Head, Nic Maddinson, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Andrew Tye, Jack Wildermuth

Qantas Tour of England

June 7: Australia beat Sussex by 57 runs at Hove

June 9: Australia beat Middlesex by 101 runs at Lord's

June 13: First ODI, The Oval (D/N)

June 16: Second ODI, Cardiff

June 19: Third ODI, Trent Bridge (D/N)

June 21: Fourth ODI, Durham (D/N)

June 24: Fifth ODI, Old Trafford

June 27: Only T20, Edgbaston (D/N)

Qantas T20I tri-series Tour of Zimbabwe

July 1: Zimbabwe vs Pakistan

July 2: Pakistan vs Australia

July 3: Australia vs Zimbabwe

July 4: Zimbabwe vs Pakistan

July 5: Pakistan vs Australia

July 6: Australia vs Zimbabwe

July 8: Final