Behrendorff debuts as India bowl first

Western Australia in for his first match while David Warner takes the reins as skipper for first T20I

Paceman Jason Behrendorff will make his long-awaited international debut in Australia's T20 against India in Ranchi tonight.

Behrendorff will become Australia's 88th Twenty20 international player for the match at the JSCA Stadium, while David Warner will captain the side in the absence of injured skipper Steve Smith.

Smith has been sent home in order to rest a shoulder injury he suffered last week, with allrounder Marcus Stoinis to replace him in the squad for the final two matches of the three-game series.

Australia XI: David Warner (c), Aaron Finch, Glenn Maxwell, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Dan Christian, Tim Paine (wk), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa, Jason Behrendorff

India XI: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (WK), Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah 

Warner lost the toss with India skipper Virat Kohli electing to bowl first with some rain about.

It's Warner's third match as T20 captain having won both games as skipper on Australia's tour of Sri Lanka last year.

With just 12 fit players to choose from, selectors have left out paceman Kane Richardson, with selectors instead going with death-bowling specialist Tye.

Currently ranked fifth in the world, India could move up to as high as second with a 3-0 series whitewash while the seventh-ranked Australians would be third if they manage to win all three matches.

The two nations have played 13 T20Is against each other, with India winning nine and Australia four. India have also won their past six against the Aussies - Australia's last win against them came at the 2012 World T20 - and India are three from three in home T20s against Australia.

Australia's Qantas Tour of India

Australia squad: David Warner (c), Jason Behrendorff, Dan Christian, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Glenn Maxwell, Tim Paine, Kane Richardson, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

India squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Axar Patel.

T20 Fixtures

October 7: JSCA International Stadium, Ranchi

October 10: Barsapara Stadium, Guwahati

October 13: Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad