Storm clouds gather in Kolkata

Wet weather likely to make an appearance on Thursday and impact pitch preparations in coming days

The inclement weather that has haunted Australia's one-day team this year looks set to make another appearance for their second ODI against India on Thursday.

After Australia lost a rain-reduced series-opener in Chennai on Sunday, they were greeted by a heavy downpour upon their arrival in Kolkata on Monday afternoon and again at training on Tuesday.

The tourists used the indoor nets at Eden Gardens, the venue of their 1987 World Cup final triumph, as large plastic sheets covered the entire ground to protect it from the rain.

A post shared by David Warner (@davidwarner31) on


And the forecast this week suggests the wet weather will, at the very least, make an appearance of some kind again on Thursday.

The BCCI curator for the East Zone, Ashish Bhowmick, said the weather would also have a major impact on pitch preparations in the coming days.

"The weather will be a factor," he was quoted as saying by The Telegraph India.

"If it stays overcast and if there is more rain, the wicket will be on the slower side. The ball in that case would come on to the bat at a slower pace for obvious reasons.

"But it is a challenge hosting a match here at this time of the year. We all know how tricky the weather is."

India go 1-0 up after rain-affected ODI opener

Australia's past four one-day internationals - three in the ICC Champions Trophy and Sunday's match in Chennai - have all been affected by rain, with two of them washed out. And their match against New Zealand in Napier in February was abandoned due to a wet outfield.

As had been the case in the UK for the Champions Trophy, where it rained in four of Australia’s five matches (including warm-up games) but only one of their 10 training sessions, the rain in Chennai on Sunday came after more than a week of clear weather on India's south-east coast.

Australia's Qantas Tour of India

Australia ODI squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner, Ashton Agar, Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Patrick Cummins, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.

Australia T20 squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner, Jason Behrendorff, Dan Christian, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Patrick Cummins, Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Glenn Maxwell, Tim Paine, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa.

India squad (first three ODIs): Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami.

ODI Fixtures

September 17: India won by 26 runs (DLS Method)

September 21: Eden Gardens, Kolkata

September 24: Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore

September 28: M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

October 1: VCA Stadium, Nagpur

T20 Fixtures

October 7: JSCA International Stadium, Ranchi

October 10: Barsapara Stadium, Guwahati

October 13: Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad