Australia v New Zealand Tests

Summer Test schedule and venues confirmed

A six-Test home summer will see history made in Adelaide while Test cricket returns to Hobart, Perth and all major centres

Dave Middleton

30 June 2015, 02:09 AM AEST

Historic day-night Test set for Adelaide

Australia's six-Test 2015-16 summer will include an historic day-night Test against New Zealand and the West Indies touring for the marquee Boxing Day and New Year's Tests, which remain in Melbourne and Sydney respectively.

Test cricket returns to Hobart for the first time in three years while the WACA is back on the rotation after missing out in last summer's four-Test series.

The Chappell-Hadlee rivalry resumes

Australia's international summer begins on November 5 when Brisbane's Gabba hosts New Zealand at the now traditional home of the opening Test.

There will be only a short break before the series crosses the country to Perth where the second Test begins at the WACA on Friday the 13th.

The third Test will create cricket history and will be played under lights at the Adelaide Oval, which has beaten interest from the Gabba and Hobart's Blundstone Arena to host the inaugural day-night Test, starting November 27.

Quick Single: Adelaide to host first-day night Test

Play during the Adelaide day-night Test is likely to begin around 2.30pm each day. It will mean the major television markets on Australia's eastern seaboard will essentially have two of the three Tests running into prime time viewing due to time differences from the WACA.

There will be an eight-day break between the New Zealand and West Indies series, with the Caribbean tourists hosted in Hobart from December 10 in the first of three Tests.

It will be Hobart's first Test since Sri Lanka visited in 2012 and the West Indies first visit for a Test match since 2005, when twin centuries to Matthew Hayden and Michael Hussey sparked the hosts to a nine-wicket victory.

There will be a 10-day gap after the first Test for what is expected to be confirmed as a window for the opening fixtures of the KFC Big Bash League to dominate the cricket market before the traditional Melbourne Boxing Day Test slots in after Christmas as the marquee event of the summer.

The Sydney New Year's Test will start on January 3.

Cricket Australia will confirm the remaining international limited-overs fixtures and domestic schedules at a later date.

Live Pass