Australia name ODI, T20 squads for tour of India

National selectors name squads for limited-overs tour of India in September and October

Pacemen James Faulkner and Nathan Coulter-Nile have been recalled to Australia's ODI squad for their tour of India in September and October, as have allrounders Ashton Agar and Hilton Cartwright.

Australia ODI squad: Steve Smith, David Warner, Ashton Agar, Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Patrick Cummins, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa

Australia T20 squad: Steve Smith (C), David Warner (VC), Jason Behrendorff, Dan Christian, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Patrick Cummins, Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Glenn Maxwell, Tim Paine, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa

Faulkner, player of the match in the 2015 World Cup final, had been surprisingly left out of the squad for the Champions Trophy earlier this year, but his vast experience in the subcontinent has helped him earn a recall.

Coulter-Nile, who has been plagued by serious injury in recent years, will get the chance to add to his 16 ODIs having shown impressive signs in the Indian Premier League earlier this year.

Allrounder Moises Henriques, as well as injured quartet Chris Lynn, John Hastings, James Pattinson and Mitchell Starc, are the five omissions from the squad that was named for the Champions Trophy in June.

Starc has been rested for the entire tour as he continues his recovery from a foot injury and he will now target a return in the domestic one-day cup for NSW Blues ahead of the Magellan Ashes. 

In the T20 squad, WA quick Jason Behrendorff and South Australia's Kane Richardson have been selected, while Josh Hazlewood has not been included for the T20 leg of the tour.

Veteran allrounder Dan Christian and keeper-batsman Tim Paine have both been named in the T20 squad, while Coulter-Nile has also been named for the 20-over matches.

"Nathan brings raw pace to the side with good variation," selector Trevor Hohns said of Coulter-Nile's selection.

"It is great to see him back from injury and we are hopeful he will have a big impact in this series.

"James Faulkner is a solid one-day campaigner and is very familiar with subcontinent conditions, coming off a very good tour of Sri Lanka last year.  We hope that he will take his chance in returning to the one-day side.

"Hilton is an aggressive striker of the ball and we think his game will be well suited to the transition to short-form cricket."

WA allrounders Agar and Cartwright will look to force their way into the XI with strong performances on the preceding Qantas Test Tour of Bangladesh. Agar played his two ODIs against England in 2015 while Cartwright was selected in the ODI squad to take on New Zealand last year but is yet to be capped at the level.

Skipper Steve Smith and David Warner are among the big names to return to the T20 side having missed this year's series against Sri Lanka due to a clash with the Test tour of India.

"Jason has been a stand out performer for the Scorchers for a number of seasons and deserves his chance at this level," T20 selector Mark Waugh said of Behrendorff.

"Dan is a very experienced allrounder who can be a very dangerous batsman. He had a solid IPL season this year and we believe his bowling will be well suited to the conditions we will face in India.

"Tim Paine has been called-up following his successful home T20 International and Big Bash campaigns."

The schedule and venues for the series are yet to be confirmed by the BCCI, but Indian media reported earlier this month that Chennai, Bengaluru, Nagpur, Indore and Kolkata will host the five-match ODI series and Hyderabad, Ranchi and Guwahati the T20s.

Cricket Australia confirmed the matches will be played from September 17 to October 13

India this week named a weakened ODI and T20 squad for their series against Sri Lanka, starting on Sunday, with veteran batsman Yuvraj Singh axed.

Quick Single: Yuvraj dropped for Sri Lanka series

Spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja along with pace spearhead Mohammed Shami have all been rested while Manish Pandey, who recently led India A to a tri-series triumph in South Africa, returned along with Test opener Lokesh Rahul.