Shooting Stars stumble in final T20

An unbeaten 46 from Mikayla Hinkley not enough, but Shooting Stars head home with a 5-1 record in their favour

The Commonwealth Bank Shooting Stars concluded their six-match tour of Sri Lanka with a six-wicket loss to Sri Lanka’s emerging cricketers in the final Twenty20 match in Colombo on Monday.

Batting first, an unbeaten 46 from Mikayla Hinkley helped Australia post a competitive 8-124, while Heather Graham (15) and Georgia Redmayne (13) also made contributions.

Quick single: Mott re-commits ahead of historic summer

Shashikala Siriwardane led the way with the ball for the home side, claiming 3-22 as Australia’s middle and lower order batters struggled to make any real impact with the bat.

Sri Lanka then reached 24 before losing their first two wickets as Belinda Vakarewa (1-9) and Jemma Barsby (1-22) dismissed Yashodha Mendis (13) and Ama Kanchana (0).

Opener Hasini Perera (41) and Lasanthi Madushani (42 not out) steadied the ship however and with the help of Harshitma Madavi (10 not out), led their side to their first victory of the tour with just four balls remaining. 

The Shooting Stars head home with a 5-1 record from three 50-over games and three T20s.

Shooting Stars squad: Jemma Barsby (Qld/Heat), Maitlan Brown (ACT/Renegades), Piepa Cleary (WA/Scorchers), Tess Cooper (Qld/Heat), Heather Graham (WA/Scorchers), Mikayla Hinkley (NSW/Thunder) (pending fitness), Alana King (Vic/Stars), Tahlia McGrath (SA/Strikers), Georgia Redmayne (Tas/Hurricanes), Lauren Smith (NSW/Sixers), Rachel Trenaman (NSW), Belinda Vakarewa (NSW/Thunder), Georgia Wareham (Vic/Renegades)

Commonwealth Bank Shooting Stars v Sri Lanka schedule

30 March: First ODI, Moors, Colombo - Australia won by seven wickets

1 April: Second ODI, Moors, Colombo - Australia won by 100 runs

3 April: Third ODI, FTZ Katunayake, Colombo - Australia won by 112 runs

6 April: First T20, Bloomfield, Colombo - Australia won by eight wickets

8 April: Second T20, FTZ Katunayake, Colombo - Australia won by eight runs

10 April: Third T20, FTZ Katunayake, Colombo - Sri Lanka won by six wickets

Join the Australian Cricket Family