Women's Ashes: All you need to know

Fixtures, tickets, broadcast, the points system: everything you need to know about Australia's bid to retain the Women's Ashes

How does it work?

The Commonwealth Bank Women’s Ashes is contested across all three formats, with the team that gains the most points awarded the trophy. Australia and England will play seven matches in total – three ODIs, one day-night Test and three T20Is. Each limited-overs win is worth two points (one point if the game is a tie or abandoned), while the winner of the Test will walk away with four points (two points each if drawn). This system was introduced in 2013, meaning this is the fourth Ashes to be played under these rules. 

What is the Women's Ashes?

When and where is it?

The action begins with the first ODI at Brisbane’s Allan Border Field on Sunday at 9.15am local time. The other two ODIs will be played in Coffs Harbour on October 26 and 29, before the action heads to Sydney for the first-ever women’s day-night Test, beginning at North Sydney Oval on November 9. Unlike men’s Tests, the women’s is played across four days. The first T20I will also be played at North Sydney, on November 17, before the series wraps up with two T20Is at Canberra’s Manuka Oval on November 19 and 21.

View full fixture

Who currently holds the Ashes?

Australia! The Southern Stars claimed the Ashes in 2015, travelling to the United Kingdom and winning the multi-format points-based series for the first time with one match to spare. The series ultimately ended up 10-6 in Australia’s favour. That effort was thanks largely to superstar allrounder Ellyse Perry, who topped both the wickets and runs tables for the series.

11 inspirational Aussies who want to #BeatEngland

How is the ICC Women’s Championship involved?

The ICC Women’s Championship sees the top eight teams meet in an ODI round-robin competition that spans four years, with automatic qualification for the 2021 World Cup on the line. The Ashes ODIs mark the start of the new Championship cycle for both Australia and England, so they’ll be extra keen to take every point possible from the three one-day internationals.

Who are the favourites?

England took the world No.1 ranking from Australia for the first time since the current rankings system was introduced two years ago at the start of the month, and Heather Knight’s team will be full of confidence after winning the Women’s World Cup on home soil in July. They claimed a thrilling three-run win when the teams met during the group stage of the tournament and, given their recent outstanding form, should go in as favourites. Australia are still hurting from their World Cup semi-final exit though, and will be more determined than ever to hang on to this particular piece of silverware against their fiercest rivals.

Get your tickets for the Ashes!

Who are the players to keep an eye on?

For Australia, the form of allrounder Perry will be crucial. The 26-year-old has topped the runs and wickets tables in the last two Ashes series and with usual skipper Meg Lanning injured, the Southern Stars will be relying on her to continue her incredible run of form with the bat. Stand-in skipper Rachael Haynes has made a strong start to the summer while exciting batter Elyse Villani has scored two blazing tons – one in the WNCL and one in a warm-up match – in the past fortnight. A young gun to keep an eye on is Ashleigh Gardner, who has cemented her spot in the ODI team with her off-spin but is still waiting for a chance to fully show what she can do with the bat at the highest level.

Ashleigh Gardner: Beyond Bourke to Baggy Green

England will be spearheaded by pace stars Katherine Brunt and Anya Shrubsole, who will be determined to make early inroads into Australia’s strong batting line-up. Powerful allrounder Natalie Sciver looks to have found her feet at international level this year and could prove devastating with the bat, while left-arm spinner Alex Hartley had Australia in all sorts during the World Cup and will be hoping to repeat that performance. A young gun to keep an eye on is Sophie Ecclestone. The left-arm spinner wasn’t selected for the World Cup, but tore up the domestic scene and earned herself a spot on this trip. She may not appear in the ODIs due to Hartley’s form, but she’s being tipped to dominate with the pink ball in the Test. 

Why is the Test match special?

The match at North Sydney Oval will be the first Ashes day-night Test – for either gender – and the first pink-ball women’s Test. If that’s not exciting enough, the match is supporting the McGrath Foundation, with Pink Stumps Day to be held on day three of the match. On day two, the Richies – the group of Benaud devotees who have become an iconic part of the SCG Test – will be in attendance, so expect a great atmosphere across the four days!

Aussie Women on the importance of the Baggy Green

How can I follow? will keep you up to speed with all the latest news and highlights from the tournament. In terms of social media, we've also got you covered: follow @southernstars on Twitter for regular updates and highlights, like the Australian Women’s Cricket Team page on Facebook, follow @southernstars on Instagram for the very best images and for exclusive behind-the-scenes access via Instagram stories.

How do I attend?

Tickets for the Women’s Ashes are just $10 for adults and $5 for concession, while kids get in free with a valid match ticket. Additionally, $2 from every adult and concession ticket sold will go to nominated local cricket clubs or charity (see below). Buy tickets HERE

The Danger Zone: England's biggest threats

Where can I watch?

All six limited-overs matches will be broadcast live and free by the Nine Network. The historic day-night Test at North Sydney Oval from 9-12 November will feature high-quality streaming exclusively on and the Cricket Australia Live app, while streaming of the shorter formats will also be available across mobile and desktop with a Live Pass subscription.

In addition to the broadcast coverage on TV and online, ABC Radio has also confirmed they will provide coverage and commentary throughout the series.

Fans in England will be able to catch all the action during the Women's Ashes via a free live stream on and the Cricket Network app.

What are the squads?

Australia have named a 14-player ODI squad and a 15-player Test squad. The T20 squad will be named after the one-day matches. 

Australia squad (ODI and Test): Rachael Haynes (C), Alex Blackwell (VC), Kristen Beams, Nicole Bolton, Lauren Cheatle, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Belinda Vakarewa (Test only), Elyse Villani, Amanda-Jade Wellington.

England squad: Heather Knight (c), Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Sophie Ecclestone, Georgia Elwiss, Jenny Gunn, Alex Hartley, Danielle Hazell, Laura Marsh, Anya Shrubsole, Sarah Taylor, Nat Sciver, Fran Wilson, Lauren Winfield, Danielle Wyatt.

Aussie Stars share their favourite Ashes memory

Commonwealth Bank Women's Ashes


First ODI Allan Border Field, October 22

Brisbane Charity Partner: Lord Mayor's Charitable Trust

Second ODI Coffs International Stadium, October 26

Third ODI Coffs International Stadium, October 29

Coffs Junior Cricket Association Partners: Coffs Harbour District JCA, Nambucca Bellingen JCA, and Clarence River JCA

Day-Night Test North Sydney Oval, November 9-12

First T20 North Sydney Oval, November 17

North Sydney Charity Partner: McGrath Foundation

Second T20 Manuka Oval, November 19

Third T20 Manuka Oval, November 21

Canberra Charity Partner: Lord's Taverners ACT