Hayden, Boon, Wilson to join Hall of Fame

A trio of legendary names of Australian cricket will be added to the Hall of Fame at this year's Allan Border Medal event in Sydney

Martin Smith, at the SCG

22 January 2017, 11:00 AM

Former Test openers Matthew Hayden and David Boon, and women's cricket pioneer Betty Wilson are the latest inductees into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame.

The trio were announced as the 2017 inductees at the SCG today and will be formally inducted at the Allan Border Medal tomorrow night.

LIVE: Hall of Fame induction

Meet the newest members of the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame! #Legends

Posted by Australian Cricket Team on Saturday, 21 January 2017

"It's an enormous honour," Boon said.

"To join some of the great players from past eras ... it's something that will be very special to me and my family for a long time."

Hayden, the powerful opening batsmen during Australia's golden era of the early 2000s, scored 40 international centuries and almost 15,000 runs across Test and one-day international cricket in a career that spanned 15 years.

Hayden dominates a 2003 ODI at the SCG

Boon, another former Test and ODI opener, scored more than 13,000 runs during his career in the 1980s and 1990s, including 21 centuries at Test level.

Wilson is an icon of women's cricket and was known during her career in the 1940s and 1950s as the 'female Bradman'. An incredibly talented off-spinning allrounder, Wilson averaged 57.46 with the bat an 11.80 with the ball in 11 Tests.

David Boon's Adelaide century in 1985

She was the first woman to take a hat-trick in Test cricket and, against England in 1958, became the first player (male or female) to score a century and take a 10-wicket haul in the same Test match.

She passed away in 2010 at the age of 88, and had been inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame in February 2015.

Wilson's induction into the Hall of Fame at the AB Medal will come on the same night the award named in her honour will be awarded for the first time.

Betty Wilson bats at Lord's in the 1950s // Getty
Betty Wilson bats at Lord's in the 1950s // Getty

The Betty Wilson Young Player of the Year Award will be awarded to a player aged 24 years or younger who had played 10 or fewer matches before the voting period opened on 5 December 2015.

Quick Single: New awards to feature at AB Medal

Hayden and Boon both attended the announcement at the SCG today and Boon will be honoured later today along with his former teammates as part of the 30-year celebrations of Australia's 1987 World Cup win. Wilson was represented at today's announcement by her nephew Ken.

"There's mixed emotions," Ken Wilson said.

"It's sad and unfortunate that Betty isn't here to receive this honour. She would have loved it and she would have been very honoured and very humbled to have received this accolade.

"But at the same time I'm excited that she has been recognised. Betty retired from Test cricket 58 years ago, so that the cricket community still remembers what she did ... I'm absolutely delighted."

The Australian Cricket Hall of Fame was officially opened in 1996 and the induction of Hayden, Boon and Wilson brings the total number of inductees to 46.