KP, 10 Australians released in IPL

A host of big names have been released by their franchises for the 2017 Indian Premier League

Kevin Pietersen and Dale Steyn are among a host of big names to have been released by their respective Indian Premier League franchises, while Australians Mitchell Johnson, George Bailey and Peter Handscomb have also been cut.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced on Monday night that the eight IPL franchises had retained a total of 140 players from this year's tournament for the next event in 2017.

The Rising Pune Supergiants opted not to retain Pietersen as well as Australian trio Bailey, Handscomb and Scott Boland, but fellow Aussies Steve Smith, Mitchell Marsh, Adam Zampa and Usman Khawaja remain on their list.

KP and Maxi: Word association

South African Steyn has been cut by the Gujarat Lions who, like the Supergiants, were a new addition to the tournament in 2016. Aussies James Faulkner, Aaron Finch and Andrew Tye have been retained by the Lions, as have KFC Big Bash League duo Brendon McCullum (Brisbane Heat) and Dwayne Bravo (Melbourne Renegades).

Steyn confirmed earlier this month that he would be unavailable for the tournament as he aims to force his was back into South Africa's side following an elbow injury.

In addition to Bailey, Handscomb and Boland, another seven Australians were let go; Johnson (King XI Punjab), Brad Hogg, John Hastings, Shaun Tait (all Kolkata Knight Riders), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Joel Paris (both Delhi Daredevils) and Kane Richardson (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

A total of 17 Australians were retained by their respective franchises, all of which have been listed below.

BBL stars reveal who they'd pick first

The 2017 IPL has been pencilled in to commence on April 5, less than a week after Australia's four-match Test series against India is scheduled to finish on March 29.

The 2017 IPL auction is expected to be held on February 4.

Australians released for 2017 IPL

George Bailey, Peter Handscomb, Scott Boland (Rising Pune Supergiants), Brad Hogg, John Hastings, Shaun Tait (Kolkata Knight Riders), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Joel Paris (Delhi Daredevils), Kane Richardson (Royal Challengers Bangalore), Mitchell Johnson (King XI Punjab)

Australians retained for 2017 IPL

Rising Pune Supergiants: Steve Smith, Mitchell Marsh, Adam Zampa, Usman Khawaja

Gujarat Lions: James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Andrew Tye

Kings XI Punjab: Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh, Marcus Stoinis

Kolkata Knight Riders: Chris Lynn

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner, Moises Henriques, Ben Cutting

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Mitchell Starc, Shane Watson, Travis Head

Delhi Daredevils: none

Mumbai Indians: none

International cricket is more affordable than ever this summer, with adult tickets from $30, kids from $10 and family packages from $65 across every day of international cricket. Price for purchase at match. Transaction fee from $6.95 applies to online and other purchases. For more information and to purchase tickets, click here.

Meg Lanning Steve Smith