Bangladesh v Australia Tests

Bangladesh keep spinners hidden

Pace-heavy attack picked for Australia's warm-up game on docile Fatullah pitch

Cricket Network

23 September 2015, 08:15 AM AEST

Bangladesh have picked a pace-heavy line-for Australia's sole warm-up match, making no secret of their attempt to disrupt the tourists' preparation by not including any front-line spinners.

Part-time spinning allrounders and four pace bowlers have been included in a 13-man squad for the three-day match on the traditionally low and slow Fatullah pitch. The match will not be a first-class contest but does serve as the only in-country preparation for Steve Smith's new-look team.

Bangladesh national selector Minhajul Abedin said denying Australia their ideal preparation was behind the Bangladesh Cricket Board XI selections.

"We are taking home advantage. Like any other touring side that comes to Bangladesh, we will make it challenging for Australia to play spin, which is our biggest area of strength," Abedin said.

"We have picked more batsmen because Australia has a good bowling attack."

The BCB XI line-up is not entirely devoid of players Australia might expect to face in the two Test matches however. Opener Imrul Kayes will take the chance for an early look at Australia's bowlers.

Fast-bowling allrounder Soumya Sarkar has played three Tests, most recently against India in June, while five others have been capped by their country – Anamul Haque, Shuvagata Hom, Naeem Islam, Al-Amin Hossain and Shafiul Islam.

Teenager Masaddek Hossaink is one of four players without any international experience, but averages 67 in first-class cricket with five centuries in 11 matches, the most recent of which came last week in the country's National Cricket League.

The first Test between Bangladesh and Australia begins on October 9 in Chittagong.

BCB XI squad: Imrul Kayes, Anamul Haque, Mahmudul Hasan, Mohammad Mithun, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Shuvagata Hom, Naeem Islam, Al-Amin Hossain, Kamrul Islam, Abu Jayed, Shafiul Islam.