Rare dismissal helps Bangladesh stun India

Obstructing the field ruling a talking point as Bangladesh upset India to win Asia Cup title

Cricket Network

11 June 2018, 10:49 AM

Rare dismissal helps Bangladesh stun India

India's Anuja Patil became the first woman in T20 internationals to be given out obstructing the field as Bangladesh pulled off an upset victory to win the Asia Cup in Malaysia.

Patil was ruled to have intentionally changed her direction into the path of the ball to avoid being run out as India managed just 9-112 from their 20 overs.

Patil ran from the right side of the pitch (left) into the centre
Patil ran from the right side of the pitch (left) into the centre

Bangladesh started strongly but then stuttered late in their run chase, losing 3-15 to leave two new batters at the crease with two runs needed from the final ball to win.

But No.8 Jahanara Alam delivered, hitting her first delivery to the fielder at deep mid-wicket and diving into her ground to complete the second run before her teammates ran onto the pitch amid wild celebrations.

Bangladesh's men's team were among those watching on television, with a video from their dressing-room showing loud celebrations when the victory was secured.

Well done 👍 girls A post shared by Tamim Iqbal (@tamimofficial) on

The dismissal of Patil, however, was a major talking point; India's No.5 was at the non-striker's end in the ninth over when she set off for a quick single before being sent back. As she turned, Patil moved across into the middle of the pitch and blocked the path of a throw from wicketkeeper Shamima Sultana at the bowler's end.

The ball struck Patil as she made her ground and while the on-field umpires ruled she was not out, the third official over-ruled the decision.

Patil blocked the ball from hitting the stumps
Patil blocked the ball from hitting the stumps

Patil is only the second player, male or female, to be dismissed in such a fashion in T20 internationals and just the second woman ever in all top-level cricket.

The previous instance in T20s happened to England's Jason Roy in a match against South Africa last year, a decision that drew heavy criticism at the time.

Roy's rare dismissal causes stir in second T20

And a similar incident occurred in the KFC Big Bash League last season, with Brisbane Heat's Alex Ross given out obstructing the field against the Hurricanes, another ruling that led to strong criticism.

But the incident couldn't take away from Bangladesh's historic victory, the world's ninth-ranked team knocking off last year's 50-over World Cup finalists.

Ross given out for obstructing the field

It was Bangladesh's eighth ever win from 41 matches as they denied the favourites what would have been their seventh-straight Asia Cup title.