Bangladesh release Champs Trophy squad

Shafiul returns from injury while IPL stars Shakib and Mustafizur are expected to join playing group late

Australia's Champions Trophy Group A rivals Bangladesh have recalled paceman Shafiul Islam as part of their 15-man squad for the tournament.

BANGLADESH SQUAD: Tamim Iqbal, Somya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Sunzamul Islam, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (c), Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam. Standby: Nasir Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Subashis Roy, Md. Saif Uddin

Shafiul played the most recent of his 56 one-day internationals against England last October and, having recovered sufficiently from a hamstring injury, returns to a squad that includes big-name players Shakib Al Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman and Tamim Iqbal and well as their 2015 World Cup hero Mahmudullah.

Quick Single: Surprises in Aussie Champions Trophy squad

The Tigers, who reached the quarter-finals of the World Cup two years ago before losing to India, are a vastly improved side, particularly in one-day cricket.

They won six consecutive bilateral ODI series between 2015 and 2016, all of which came at home, including series triumphs over India, Pakistan and South Africa.

Clarke's commentator's curse denies Williamson century

Bangladesh will take on hosts England at The Oval in the opening match of the tournament on June 1 before they face Australia at the same venue four days later and then New Zealand in Cardiff on June 9.

The quadrennial eight-team event will be played between June 1 and 18, with defending champions India to be pooled with South Africa, Pakistan and Sri Lanka in Group B.

Quick Single: Uncapped spinner in Proteas Champions Trophy squad

The Tigers currently have two players in the Indian Premier League – Mustafizur with Sunrisers Hyderabad and Shakib with Kolkata Knight Riders – with both expected to arrive in England after the rest of the playing group.

Bangladesh are the country team to release their squad, following on from South Africa on Wednesday and Australia earlier today. 

The Proteas named uncapped spinner Keshav Maharaj to their 15-man squad, to be led by superstar batsman AB de Villiers. 

Quick Single: Proteas release Champions Trophy squad

SOUTH AFRICA: AB de Villiers (c), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, JP Duminy, David Miller, Chris Morris,  Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj, Farhaan Behardien, Morne Morkel

The Australians left out ODI regular James Faulkner and included Blues skipper Moises Henriques instead, in a 15-man group with several surprises. 

Quick Single: Aussies announce Champions Trophy squad

AUSTRALIA SQUAD: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, James Pattinson, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa 

Join the Australian Cricket Family