England Men's Tour of Australia

CA XI named for Perth tour match

Exciting young talent to take it to Joe Root's team during a two-day warm-up match in Perth next weekend

Cricket Network

2 December 2017, 10:03 AM AEST

A squad of young talent has been named to take on England’s Ashes squad in a two-day tour match in Perth next weekend.

The 12-player squad, which will be coached by National Specialist Skills Program spin coach and Queensland Bulls assistant coach John Davison with assistance from former Australia opener Chris Rogers, features four players from Tasmania, three from Western Australia and Victoria and two from South Australia.

They’ll take on Joe Root’s Englishmen at Perth’s Richardson Park from December 9-10, ahead of the third Magellan Ashes Test at the WACA Ground from December 14.

Four members of the squad - Victoria’s Travis Dean and Sam Harper, plus Tasmania’s Jake Doran and Gabe Bell - have played JLT Sheffield Shield cricket this season.

Opening batsman Dean has four first-class centuries to his name, while Doran recently scored his maiden first-class ton and quick Bell has taken 15 scalps in four matches.

Six members of the CA XI side - Harper, Dean alongside Western Australia’s Clint Hinchliffe, South Australia’s Michael Cormack, and Tasmania duo Mac Wright and Nick Buchanan - played in this summer’s JLT One-Day Cup.

Cormack also featured in the CA XI squad for the first two tour matches, in Adelaide and Townsville, while Western Australia keeper-batsman Josh Philippe impressed with 88 for a Western Australia XI against England in November.

Ponting reflects on all-time Test match classic

"We wanted to field as strong a side as possible, and it’s pleasing to have a number of players involved with first-class and domestic one-day experience," Cricket Australia National Talent Manager and National Selector Greg Chappell said.

"On the batting front, Travis Dean and Jake Doran both have first-class hundreds to their name, while a number of up-and-coming players such as Clint Hinchliffe and Jake Winter also get a chance to shine.

"Josh Philippe from Western Australia impressed in his last match against England, when he scored 88, and he will take the gloves, allowing Jake Doran and Sam Harper to focus on their batting.

"Gabe Bell is a young player who has performed well in the Sheffield Shield this season, and this is a great opportunity for him, while there is plenty of variety on the spin-bowling front with Clint Hinchliffe, Mac Wright and Michael Cormack."

Cricket Australia XI squad: Gabe Bell (Tas), Alex Bevilaqua (WA), Nick Buchanan (Tas), Michael Cormack (SA), Travis Dean (Vic), Jake Doran (Tas), Sam Harper (Vic), Clint Hinchliffe (WA), Jackson Koop (Vic), Josh Philippe (WA), Jake Winter (SA), Mac Wright (Tas).

2017-18 International Fixtures

Magellan Ashes Series

Australia Test squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Cameron Bancroft, Usman Khawaja, Peter Handscomb, Shaun Marsh, Tim Paine (wk), Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood, Jackson Bird, Chadd Sayers.

England Test squad: Joe Root (c), James Anderson (vc), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Gary Ballance, Stuart Broad, Alastair Cook, Mason Crane, Tom Curran, Ben Foakes, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Ben Stokes, Mark Stoneman, James Vince, Chris Woakes.

First Test Australia won by 10 wickets. Scorecard

Second Test Adelaide Oval, December 2-6 (Day-Night). Tickets

Third Test WACA Ground, December 14-18. Tickets

Fourth Test MCG, December 26-30. Tickets

Fifth Test SCG, January 4-8 (Pink Test). Tickets

Gillette ODI Series v England

First ODI MCG, January 14. Tickets

Second ODI Gabba, January 19. Tickets

Third ODI SCG, January 21. Tickets

Fourth ODI Adelaide Oval, January 26. Tickets

Fifth ODI Perth Stadium, January 28. Tickets

Prime Minister's XI

PM's XI v England Manuka Oval, February 2. Tickets

Gillette T20 trans-Tasman Tri-Series

First T20I Australia v NZ, SCG, February 3. Tickets

Second T20I – Australia v England, Blundstone Arena, February 7. Tickets

Third T20I – Australia v England, MCG, February 10. Tickets

Fourth T20I – NZ v England, Wellington, February 14

Fifth T20I – NZ v Australia, Eden Park, February 16

Sixth T20I – NZ v England, Seddon Park, February 18

Final – TBC, Eden Park, February 21