Proteas stick to winning formula

South Africa given a boost ahead of NZ tour with David Miller deemed fit to travel

South Africa have retained the squad that has outplayed Sri Lanka in a one-day series for the limited-overs section of a tour of New Zealand starting next week.

Fast bowler Dane Paterson has ben added as cover for allrounder Dwaine Pretorius, who will miss the only Twenty20 international in Auckland on February 17 and the first one-dayer in Hamilton on February 19 because his wife is expecting their first child.  Paterson will return home when Pretorius joins the tour.

Quick single: Triple centurion axed for Bangladesh Test

Batsman David Miller, ruled out of the last three matches of the Sri Lanka series because of a finger injury, has been deemed fit to travel in a major boost for the Proteas, but fast bowler Lungi Ngidi, who suffered a hip injury during the Twenty20 series against Sri Lanka, has not recovered.

The squad will do duty for the Twenty20 international and five one-day internationals. A squad for three Test matches will be announced later.

The Proteas have won match remaining in their ODI series against Sri Lanka, which they currently lead 4-0. A win in the final ODI will see them overtake Australia at the top of the one-day rankings, a position they would be eager to cement with strong performances against the Black Caps.

Cricket South Africa selection convener Linda Zondi said: “We are very happy with the way the squad has jelled over the past six months and consistency in selection is very important as we continue our build-up towards the ICC Champions Trophy tournament (in England in June).

"New Zealand are playing very good cricket at the moment and as always will provide very tough opposition, particularly under their home conditions."

South African limited-overs squad: AB de Villiers (ODI captain), Faf du Plessis (T20 captain), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock (wkt), JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Dane Paterson, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi.