India recall Karthik for Champs Trophy

Defending champions name veteran 'keeper-batsman as replacement for injured Manish Pandey in their 15-man squad

Wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik has been recalled from the international cricket wilderness after earning a last-minute selection in India's squad for next month's Champions Trophy as an injury replacement.

Karthik comes into India’s 15-man squad for Manish Pandey, who sustained a left-side strain during a practice session with the Kolkata Knight Riders for the ongoing Indian Premier League, the Borad for Control of Cricket in India announced on Thursday.

The 31-year-old Karthik was part of India's 2013 Champions Trophy-winning squad but hasn’t played at international level since March 2014.

Quick Single: Champions Trophy  preview: Sri Lanka

The veteran nonetheless has 71 matches of ODI experience and has been in strong form on the domestic circuit this year. He was the second-highest run scorer for his IPL team Gujarat Lions, scoring 361 runs.

Karthik also racked up 854 runs at 85.40 in domestic List A competitions this season in India.

India begin their Group B campaign against arch-rivals Pakistan at Birmingham on June 4.

The return of star opener Rohit Sharma and fast bowler Mohammad Shami were the major talking points from India's squad for the two-and-a-half-week tournament, which was named earlier this month.

Rohit, who hasn't played for India since suffering a thigh injury in October, has been named alongside 2013 player of the tournament and fellow opener Shikhar Dhawan.

Rohit's replica of classic Waugh catch

The 15-man squad features four out-and-out fast bowlers in Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and Umesh Yadav as well has pace-bowling allrounder Hardik Pandya.

Shami, who has battled a string of serious injuries in recent years, hasn't played an ODI since India's World Cup semi-final against Australia more than two years ago.

Veteran batsman Yuvraj Singh has also been included, while star spinner Ravichandran Ashwin returns having missed the current Indian Premier League due to injury. Ashwin and allrounder Ravindra Jadeja are the two spinners in the squad.

Opener KL Rahul was left out due to the shoulder injury he suffered in the recent Test series against Australia, while there was no room for veterans Gautam Gambhir and Harbhajan Singh despite impressive form in the IPL.

Champions Trophy 2017 Guide

Squads: Every Champions Trophy squad named so far

Group A: Australia, New Zealand, England, Bangladesh.

Group B: India, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Pakistan.


Warm-up matches

26 May – Australia v Sri Lanka, The Oval

27 May – Bangladesh v Pakistan, Edgbaston

28 May – India v New Zealand, The Oval

29 May – Australia v Pakistan, Edgbaston

30 May – New Zealand v Sri Lanka, Edgbaston

30 May – Bangladesh vs India, The Oval


1 June – England v Bangladesh, The Oval (Day)

2 June – Australia v New Zealand, Edgbaston (D)

3 June – Sri Lanka v South Africa, The Oval (D)

4 June – India v Pakistan, Edgbaston (D)

5 June – Australia v Bangladesh, The Oval (D/N)

6 June – England v New Zealand, Cardiff (D)

7 June – Pakistan v South Africa, Edgbaston (D/N)

8 June – India v Sri Lanka, The Oval (D)

9 June – New Zealand v Bangladesh, Cardiff (D)

10 June – England v Australia, Edgbaston (D)

11 June – India v South Africa, The Oval (D)

12 June – Sri Lanka v Pakistan, Cardiff (D)

14 June – First semi-final (A1 v B2), Cardiff (D)

15 June – Second semi-final (A2 v B1), Edgbaston (D)

18 June – Final, The Oval (D)

19 June – Reserve day (D)

Ashes tickets are on sale now