Carberry, Bresnan back for England

Experienced pair return for ODIs, T20s

Opening batsman Michael Carberry and paceman Tim Bresnan have been named in England's one-day and Twenty20 squads to take on Sri Lanka. 

Carberry, 33, was left out of England's ODI squad during its disastrous tour of Australia last summer, and has played just five ODIs. He is yet to debut at T20 level. 

Bresnan meanwhile, returns from a back injury after impressing during England's failed World T20 campaign in Bangladesh.


England take on World T20 champions Sri Lanka next Tuesday, May 20, before the two sides contest a five-match ODI series.

Eoin Morgan will captain the 13-man T20 squad, with Stuart Broad in the middle of a rehabilitation period on his right knee, while Alastair Cook will again lead the 14-man ODI squad.

"Playing the World T20 Champions in front of a home crowd is a hugely exciting opportunity for this squad," said national selector, James Whitaker. "With Stuart currently unavailable we have chosen Eoin to lead the side and I would like to wish him and the rest of the squad all the very best.

"We are entering an important period of 50-over cricket with a World Cup less than nine months away and this series against a skilful Sri Lankan side offers a chance to regain some momentum and for players to demonstrate the skill and passion we will need if we are to be serious contenders next year in Australia and New Zealand."

England T20 squad: Eoin Morgan (Middlesex, capt), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Michael Carberry (Hampshire), Harry Gurney (Nottinghamshire), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Joe Root (Yorkshire), James Tredwell (Kent), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire).

England ODI squad (Games 1-3): Alastair Cook (Essex, capt), James Anderson (Lancashire), Gary Ballance (Yorkshire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Michael Carberry (Hampshire), Harry Gurney (Nottinghamshire), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Joe Root (Yorkshire), James Tredwell (Kent), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire).

Sri Lanka ODI squad: Angelo Mathews (capt), Lahiru Thirimanne, TM Dilshan, Kusal Janith Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Dinesh Chandimal, Ashan Priyanjana, Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis, Chathuranga De Silva, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thisara Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Dhammika Prasad.


NatWest International T20 vs Sri Lanka

Tuesday 20 May, Kia Oval

Royal London One-Day Series vs Sri Lanka:

Thursday 22 May, Kia Oval

Sunday 25 May, Emirates Durham ICG

Wednesday 28 May, Emirates Old Trafford

Saturday 31 May, Lord's

Tuesday 3 June, Edgbaston