Back to top




Kaur ruled out of Super League

01 August 2017

Harmanpreet Kaur produced a knock for the ages despite her injured shoulder // Getty

Laura Jolly


Laura Jolly


India superstar the latest international ruled out of England's T20 Super League

India superstar Harmanpreet Kaur is the latest big-name player ruled out of the England Women’s Super League.

Kaur, whose unbeaten 171 ended Australia’s tournament in the semi-finals and propelled India into the decider, struggled with a shoulder injury through the latter stages of the event with an MRI scan since revealing a tear.

The 28-year-old had signed on to play with Surrey Stars in the domestic T20 competition, but will instead spend the next month recuperating.

Kaur rages then unleashes in World Cup semi

The aggressive middle-order batter, who played for Sydney Thunder in last summer’s Rebel Women’s Big Bash League, was the only Indian player signed on for the second edition of the English competition.

"I was in bad shape in the later stages of the World Cup but the physios got me going,” Kaur told the Hindustan Times.

"It would have been great to be a part of Kia League. I had a successful stint with Sydney Thunder in Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) which lifted my game and confidence.

"I will convey my unavailability to the franchise."

She is the third international to be ruled out of the Super League since the end of the World Cup, following Australia opener Beth Mooney and South Africa captain Dane van Niekerk.

Mooney, who scored two half-centuries in eight innings during the tournament, had been due to play her second season with the Yorkshire Diamonds but will instead take the opportunity to rest ahead of a busy home summer that will see Australia take on England in the Ashes before the third season of the WBBL, while Van Niekerk, the World Cup’s top wicket taker with 15 scalps at 10, will not appear for the Southern Vipers due to a thigh injury.

Match wrap: Collapse hands England WWC title

Their absences will open the door for three other unsigned internationals, with replacement players expected to be named before the Super League kicks off on August 10.

The six-team competition sees each team play each other once, culminating in a finals day featuring the top three teams on September 1.

After no games were broadcast last season, the second edition will see eight matches broadcast in the United Kingdom on Sky Sports.

Five Australians will take part of the tournament, with three – Ellyse Perry, Kristen Beams and Elyse Villani – lining up for Loughborough Lightning.

Jess Jonassen has signed with Lancashire Thunder, while Rene Farrell will make her first appearance since announcing her ODI retirement in April when she plays for Surrey Stars.

About the Writer


Laura Jolly is a writer for She previously wrote for News Corp Australia and the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015.