Warner crowned 2017 AB Medalist

23 January 2017
Our voices

Australia's vice-captain takes out top award for the second consecutive year on the back of stellar ODI form

About the Writer:

Andrew Ramsey is the senior writer for He previously wrote for the Guardian, The Australian, The Times, The Telegraph, The Hindu and Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack and the author of The Wrong Line.

On the strength of a record-breaking year in one-day cricket, David Warner has been honoured as Australia’s foremost cricketer by winning the Crown Lager Allan Border Medal for the second consecutive year.

Warner polled an overall tally of 269 votes cast across all three (Test, ODI and T20I) formats by his fellow players as well as umpires and media representatives to finish ahead of his skipper Steve Smith (248) and fast bowler Mitchell Starc (197).

Despite enduring a comparatively lean 12 months in the Test arena – Warner went almost a year without scoring a Test century and failed to reach 70 in five matches played outside Australia – he polled heavily in the ODI format.

Warner blasts 156 to save Australia

Where he scored seven centuries during the voting period, spanning early January 2016 to 7 January this year, which is a new record for an Australia batter in 50-over internationals.

Eclipsing the five that Ricky Ponting scored in the 2003 calendar year.

Quick Single: Wonderful Warner earns ODI prize

Warner was also named ODI Player of the Year, as was expected given his exploits against the white ball, although the fact that he had not previously earned that honour was as remarkable as his recent ball striking.

He becomes the fourth player to have his name engraved on the Border Medal more than once, joining four-times winners Ricky Ponting (2004-07 and 2009), and  Michael Clarke (2005, 2009 and 2012-13) and Shane Watson (2010-11).

Warner creates history with first-session ton

Warner was the second-highest runs scorer across all three formats during the voting period, with 2420 runs at 46.54 which was exceeded only by Smith’s 2489 at 52.96 from one more international appearance.

He has now won four separate awards at the annual Allan Border presentation, held this year at Star Sydney.

In addition to Australian cricket’s top individual honour, Warner has been awarded Test player of the Year, ODI Player of the Year and Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year.

Quick Single: Super Starc takes out top Test gong

Perhaps surprisingly, Warner has yet to add his name to the list of winners in the T20 International game which was where he first made his name in Australia colours as a top-order thrasher in 2009.

Players laud Crown Lager AB Medal-winner

However, he joins the select group of Matthew Hayden, Glenn McGrath, Ponting, Smith and Watson to have earned the Test and ODI Player of the Year honours as well as the Border Medal.

Perhaps due to his lack of dominance in the Test arena during the middle of the year, it was thought that Warner might finish behind Smith in the final voting.

Blue Carpet: 2017 Allan Border Medal

As he felt after winning the award for the first time last year.

“I was totally surprised and shocked, I thought Steve Smith would have taken it out he’s had a great 12 months,” Warner said when he was named the 2016 Border Medallist.

“I’m humbled and honoured to receive the award and I think it will sink in during the next week or so when I have some time to reflect on it.”