Matador Cup: All you need to know

25 September 2015

WA's Adam Voges was last year's Matador Cup winning captain // Getty Images

Our voices

The complete guide to Australia's domestic one-day competition, kicking off on Monday October 5

About the Writer:

Callum Kanoniuk is social media editor and writer for He likes working obscure quotes from The Simpsons into cricket tweets.

It's up for debate whether or not there was actually an off-season this winter, but regardless, the 'summer of cricket' begins in a matter of days!

To make sure you're ready to go for the Matador BBQs One-Day Cup, here's all you need to know.

What is it and where?

The domestic one-day series will again be played in the tournament format starting with three games running simultaneously on October 5. This year's event will be held solely in Sydney with matches to be hosted by five suburban venues: Bankstown Oval, North Sydney Oval, Hurstville Oval, Blacktown International Sportspark and Drummoyne Oval.

After each side has played six matches, the teams placed second and third will play an elimination final at Drummoyne Oval, with the winner to take on the top side in the final at North Sydney Oval on Sunday October 25.

Quick Single: Full fixture and broadcast schedule

What's new this year?

The big change this year is the addition of the Cricket Australia XI to the competition. The new squad, made up of talented youngsters and players on the fringe of state selection, has been introduced on a two-year trial.

It is the first time since the final season of the Canberra Comets in 1999-2000 that the domestic competition will feature seven teams.

Quick Single: States name new Matador Cup squads

Who's playing?

All seven teams have now lodged their 14-man squads, with plenty of international stars included.

Cricket Australia XI: Will Bosisto (c), Marcus Harris, James Peirson, Seb Gotch, Matthew Short, Alex Gregory, Hilton Cartwright, Jack Wildermuth, James Bazley, Ryan Lees, Mitch Swepson, Liam Hatcher, Riley Ayre, Matthew Dixon.

New South Wales: Steve Smith (c), Sean Abbott, Doug Bollinger, Ryan Carters, Ed Cowan, Moises Henriques, Nathan Lyon, Nic Maddinson, Peter Nevill, Stephen O'Keefe, Kurtis Patterson, Gurinder Sandhu, Mitchell Starc, Shane Watson.

Queensland: Usman Khawaja (c)*, Cameron Boyce, Joe Burns, Ben Cutting, Luke Feldman, Peter Forrest, Chris Hartley, Charlie Hemphrey, James Hopes,  Simon Milenko, Michael Neser, Nathan Reardon, Billy Stanlake, Mark Steketee. (*Marnus Labuschagne injury replacement)

South Australia: Travis Head (c), Tom Andrews, Tom Cooper, Callum Ferguson, Jake Lehmann, Tim Ludeman, Joe Mennie, Gary Putland, Kane Richardson, Sam Raphael, Alex Ross, Daniel Worrall, Nick Winter, Adam Zampa.

Tasmania: George Bailey (c), Jackson Bird, Xavier Doherty, Alex Doolan (vc), Jake Doran, Ben Dunk, James Faulkner, Andrew Fekete, Evan Gulbis, Hamish Kingston, Dominic Michael, Tim Paine, Sam Rainbird, Clive Rose.

Victoria: Matthew Wade (c), Scott Boland, Dan Christian, Aaron Finch, Peter Handscomb, John Hastings, Jon Holland, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, James Pattinson, Rob Quiney, Peter Siddle, Marcus Stoinis, Cameron White.

Western Australia: Adam Voges (c), Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Michael Klinger, Simon Mackin, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh (vc), Joel Paris, Jhye Richardson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Sam Whiteman.

Any rules for this series?

The tournament will be played under the same rules and regulations as the recently updated one-day international guidelines. For a reminder of the recent changes, read here.

Who are the players to watch?

Feel free to watch more players than just those below, but keep a particularly close eye on these seven players over the next month.

Ryan Lees (Cricket Australia XI)


Lees, an uncapped Tasmanian rookie, grew up on Flinders Island where no competitive cricket teams existed when he was growing up. The 21-year-old paceman has previously played in the Imparja Cup – Cricket Australia's national Indigenous competition – as well as representing his state in national championships at a junior level.

Moises Henriques (New South Wales)


The Blues veteran continues his comeback from a sickening collision that ended his county season with Surrey. Seemingly behind a number of other talented allrounders, the 28-year-old will be looking to build on the solid all-round form he was enjoying before the serious injury occurred.

Billy Stanlake (Queensland)


At 204cm, the big Bulls quick is going to be hard to miss! The 20-year-old can crank up the pace and is set to provide some excitement on the domestic stage after spending time developing his skills in the U19s system.

Adam Zampa (South Australia)


After the departure of former skipper Johan Botha, the Redbacks will need Zampa to embrace the responsibility as the lead spinner. At 23, the young leggie will be one of the players pushing for the seemingly wide open race to be Australia's long-term ODI spinner.

Jake Doran (Tasmania)


He's only 18, but Doran already has people talking of a long career in the Baggy Green. The classy left-hander will be out to make the most of his opportunity after making the big move from NSW in the off-season.

Peter Handscomb (Victoria)


Handscomb earned a call-up to the ODI squad during the recent Qantas Tour of the British Isles and must have been close to selection for the two-Test series in Bangladesh. The 24-year-old will play key role in the middle order as the Bushrangers push for a title.

Joel Paris (Western Australia)


The exciting left-arm paceman hasn't played a competitive match since succumbing to injury in the final of last season's Matador Cup. He'll feature in a scintillating Warriors pace attack and will look to pick up where he left off 12 months ago.

How can I watch?

For fans in Australia, fifteen of the 23 matches will be broadcast live in HD on GEM, as well as being available for streaming to Live Pass subscribers. All matches will be scored live on, while we'll also provide added written and video coverage throughout the three-week tournament.

Stay up to date with all the latest news via our social media channels using #MatadorCup:




What about going to a game?

If you're in the Sydney area during October, tickets can be purchased at the gate for just $10 for adults, $5 for concessions with free entry for children 15 years and under.

Spectators at each game will also be on the lookout for the 'Grill on the Hill' barbecue that is set to include a marquee with a target on the roof. If the target is hit by the ball, free sausages will be given away equal to the player's score after hitting the six. It doesn't quite match the prizemoney that players such as Adam Voges and Steve Waugh enjoyed for hitting the sign back in the day, but hey, free snags are free snags.

Edited on October 2 after the Bangladesh Test tour was postponed

Top Stories


World Cup qualification scenarios explained

'Hacked' tweet to spark more verbals: Bancroft

Cape Town curator promises green-top

Philander in focus at favourite venue