Women's World T20 - All you need to know

12 March 2016

The Southern Stars are among the teams to watch in India // Getty Images

Our voices

We take a look at everything you need to know ahead of the Women's World Twenty20 in India

About the Writer:

Laura Jolly is a writer for She previously wrote for News Corp Australia and the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015. 

What is it?

This will be the fifth edition of the Women's WT20, hosted for the first time by India. 

The Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars have an unrivalled record in the tournament, having claimed the last three titles in 2010, 2012 and 2014, while England were the inaugural winners in 2009.

Quick Single: Women's World T20 - Full fixture

The tournament features the eight teams who compete in the ICC Women's ODI Championship, joined by Ireland and Bangladesh who qualified for the tournament in December.

Two groups of five teams will play off in a series of round matches, with the top two teams from each group advancing to the semi-finals, before the final is held at Eden Gardens on April 3.

Where is it?

The Women's World T20 will feature 23 matches played in eight cities across India - Bengaluru, Chennai, Dharamsala, Kolkata, Mohali, Mumbai, Nagpur and New Delhi. 

Australia's four group matches will be played in Nagpur and New Delhi, while the two semi-finals will be held in Mumbai and New Delhi (March 30 and 31) ahead of the final in Kolkata (April 3).

Who's playing?

Group A: Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Ireland

WATCH: Southern Stars outgun India

Group B: England, India, West Indies, Pakistan, Bangladesh

How can I watch it?

Fox Sports will show 10 broadcast games from the women's World T20 in addition to their coverage of the men's tournament.  The women's tournament features 23 matches between March 15 and April 3, with 13 of those to be broadcast live by the host broadcaster.

Three of the Southern Stars' four group matches will be shown –against New Zealand (March 21), Sri Lanka (March 24) and Ireland (March 26).

Only their opening clash against South Africa on March 18 will not be televised, but will be bringing you all the highlights from this crucial encounter.

The two semi-finals and the final at Eden Garden's on April 3 will also be shown.

Fox Sports broadcast games

March 19: India v Pakistan (9pm AEDT)

March 21: Australia v New Zealand (9pm AEDT)

March 22: England v India (9pm AEDT)

March 24: Australia v Sri Lanka (9pm AEDT) 

March 26: Australia v Ireland (9pm AEDT) 

March 27: West Indies v India (9pm AEDT)

March 28: South Africa v Sri Lanka (9pm AEDT)

March 30: First semi-final (8pm AEDT)

March 31: Second semi-final (8pm AEDT)

April 3: Final (7pm AEDT)

How can I follow it?

The team will be on the ground in India following the Southern Stars throughout the tournament to bring you all the latest news from their campaign.

Don't miss anything as the Southern Stars aim for four in a row:




Six key matches

Australia v South Africa, March 18, Nagpur: The Southern Stars kick off their campaign against the Proteas. While South Africa have never beaten Australia in the three times they've met in T20s, the Proteas defeated England in February and will be keen to add another high-profile scalp to their tally. Four of their stars featured in the WBBL over the summer and the rivalry will be fiercer than ever.

Australia v New Zealand, March 21, Nagpur: The White Ferns will go into this clash filled with confidence, having won their T20 series over Australia at home earlier this month. A trans-Tasman clash is always a blockbuster and with these teams the two highest ranked in their group, with the memories of their recent series fresh in the players' minds, expect plenty of spice.

WATCH: India chase down record total

India v Pakistan, March 19, Delhi: This one is self-explanatory. Any time these sub-continent rivals meet it is a major affair and this will be the first of two clashes between India and Parkistan on March 19, with the men's match in Dharamsala to follow. India are the favourites, but anything than happen when these teams go head to head.

England v India, March 22, Dharamsala: India haven't beaten England since 2010, but given their recent form and home ground advantage, there's no time like the present for the hosts. This match will likely shape the finals and the top teams in Group A will be watching closely.

New Zealand v South Africa, March 26, Bengaluru: The Proteas came away with bragging rights in the 2014 World T20. On that occasion, Marizanne Kapp (2-23) and Dane van Niekerk (2-12) tore through the Black Caps for 114, before captain Mignon du Preez scored fifty to see South Africa home. The trio impressed in WBBL|01 and the White Ferns will not be eager to reverse the result this time around, particularly if a semi-final berth is on the line. 

West Indies v India, March 27, Mohali: A place in the semi-finals could well be on the line when these teams meet late in the group stage. In nine meetings the ledger stands at 5-4 in India's favour and the hosts were in fine form against Australia in January, but the Windies have some very potent players in the form of Stafanie Taylor and Deadra Dottin. Another game that will shape the finals.

The squads

Australia: Meg Lanning (captain), Alex Blackwell (vice-captain), Kristen Beams, Nicola Carey, Lauren Cheatle, Sarah Coyte, Rene Farrell, Holly Ferling, Alyssa Healy (wk), Jess Jonassen, Beth Mooney, Erin Osborne, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Elyse Villani

Bangladesh: Jahanara Alam, Ayasha Rahman, Salma Khatun, Farzana Haque, Rumana Ahmed, Lata Mondal, Fahima Khatun, Sanjida Islam, Panna Ghosh, Ritu Moni, Nahida Akter, Shaila Sharmin, Khadija Tul Kubra, Nigar Sultana, Sharmin Akter Supta 

England: Charlotte Edwards, Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Georgia Elwiss, Tash Farrant, Lydia Greenway, Rebecca Grundy, Jenny Gunn, Danielle Hazell, Amy Jones, Heather Knight, Natalie Sciver, Anya Shrubsole, Sarah Taylor, Danielle Wyatt

India: Mithali Raj (Captain), Jhulan Goswami, Smriti Mandhana, Veda Krishnamurthy, Harmanpreet Kaur, Shikha Pandey, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Sushma Verma, Poonam Yadav, VR Vanitha, Anuja Patil, Ekta Bisht, Thirushkamini MD, Deepti Sharma, Niranjana Nagarajan.

Ireland:  Isobel Joyce (capt), Catherine Dalton, Laura Delany, Kim Garth, Jennifer Gray, Cecelia Joyce, Shauna Kavanagh, Amy Kenealy, Gaby Lewis, Robyn Lewis,  Ciara Metcalfe, Kate McKenna, Lucy O’Reilly, Clare Shillington, Mary Waldron.

New Zealand: Suzie Bates, Erin Bermingham, Sophie Devine, Leigh Kasperek, Felicity Leydon-Davis, Katey Martin, Sara McGlashan, Thamsyn Newton, Morna Nielsen, Katie Perkins, Anna Peterson, Rachel Priest, Hannah Rowe, Amy Satterthwaite, Lea Tahuhu

Pakistan:  Javeria Wadood, Bibi Nahida, Sidra Amin, Bisman Maroof, Muneeba Ali Siddiqui, Sana Mir (Captain), Nida Rashid, Iram Javed, Asmavia Iqbal Khokhar, Anam Amin, Sania Iqbal, Sadia Iqbal, Aliya Riaz, Sidra Nawaz (wk), Syeda Nain Fatima Abidi

South Africa: Mignon du Preez, Trisha Chetty, Moseline Daniels, Marizanne Kapp, Odine Kirsten, Dane van Niekerk, Dinesha Devnarain, Chloe Tyron, Sune Luus, Shabhim Ismail, Masabatha Klass, Ayabonga Khaka, Matshipi Marcia Letsoalo, Lizelle Lee, Yolani Fourie

Sri Lanka: Shashikala Siriwardena (Captain), Chamari Athapaththu (Vice Captain), Yashoda Mendis, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Dilani Manodara, Prasadani Weerakkody, Eshani Lokusuriya, Ama Kanchana, Nilakshi De Silva, Sugandika Kumari, Inoka Ranaweera, Hansima Karunaratne, Udeshika Prabodani, Nipuni Hansika

West Indies: Stafanie Taylor (Captain), Shakera Selman, Merissa Aguilleira, Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilia Connell, Britney Cooper, Deandra Dottin, Afy Fletcher, Stacy-Ann King, Kycia Knight, Kyshona Knight, Hayley Matthews, Anisa Mohammed, Shaquana Quintyne, Tremayne Smartt

Top Stories


Complex KP leaves legacy of greatness

Our Sheffield Shield team of the year

Australia reclaim No.1 ranking

Proteas add two players to Test squad