Back to top




Pandya survives bizarre no-ball situation

21 September 2017

Martin Smith, at Eden Gardens, Kolkata


Martin Smith, at Eden Gardens, Kolkata


Big-hitting allrounder caught and run-out from the same ball but ultimately - and rightly - adjudged not out

India's Hardik Pandya has been given not out despite being caught and run out from the same delivery in a bizarre incident in the second ODI against Australia in Kolkata.

Midway through the 48th over of India's innings at Eden Gardens, Pandya skied a full toss from Kane Richardson straight up in the air and Steve Smith took a comfortable catch running back from cover.


Having run down to the bowler's end as he watched Smith take the catch, Pandya then turned and walked out of his ground and towards the pavilion in the belief that he had been caught.

Perhaps sensing that Pandya might earn a reprieve due to the ball being ruled a waist-high no-ball, Smith yelled out to Richardson and threw the ball to the bowler, who removed the bails and ran Pandya out.

But when replays showed the ball had reached Pandya above the waist on the full, and was correctly called a no-ball, it made the caught dismissal void and also voided the run-out attempt.

Law 27.7 of the Laws of Cricket, which covers Appeals, is titled 'Batsman leaving his wicket under a misapprehension'.

The law states: "An umpire shall intervene if satisfied that a batsman, not having been given out, has left his wicket under a misapprehension that he is out. The umpire intervening shall call and signal Dead ball to prevent any further action by the fielding side and shall recall the batsman."

Aussies struggle in sapping Kolkata heat

So after several minutes of confusion and discussion between the umpires and the Australian players, Pandya was correctly reinstated to re-commence his innings. One run was added to the total for the no-ball and the next ball was signalled to be a free hit.

The whole incident was made even more confusing by the fact rain started to fall just as Richardson had run in to bowl the delivery. So as Smith took the catch and threw the ball in to complete the run out, the players and umpires also ran from the ground as the curating staff brought the covers onto the arena.

Kohli resumes heated rivalry with Aussies

Before the resumption of play 10 minutes later, Smith and vice-captain David Warner were seen on the boundary line in discussion with umpires Anil Chaudhary and Richard Illingworth, seemingly to clarify exactly why Pandya had been given a let off.

There was more drama upon the resumption; no runs were conceded from the free hit and Bhuvneshwar Kumar skied the next ball high towards cover where Smith, like he had for Pandya's reprieve, ran back to try and take the catch. But he spilled it on this occasion only for Bhuvneshwar to offer a much easier catch to Glenn Maxwell at long on the very next ball and he was out for 20.

Australia's Qantas Tour of India

Australia ODI squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner, Ashton Agar, Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Patrick Cummins, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.

Australia T20 squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner, Jason Behrendorff, Dan Christian, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Patrick Cummins, Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Glenn Maxwell, Tim Paine, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa.

India squad (first three ODIs): Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami.

ODI Fixtures

September 17: MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai

September 21: Eden Gardens, Kolkata

September 24: Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore

September 28: M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

October 1: VCA Stadium, Nagpur

T20 Fixtures

October 1: JSCA International Stadium, Ranchi

October 10: Barsapara Stadium, Guwahati

October 13: Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

About the Writer

Martin Smith is a writer for He previously wrote for Yahoo!7 Sport and Fox Sports.