Rebel WBBL|03

India star set to make WBBL debut

A new skipper and four new faces feature in Hobart's squad to play the Adelaide Strikers in the opening weekend of WBBL|03

Susie Giese

5 December 2017, 01:00 PM AEST

Four new faces have been named in Hobart Hurricanes' initial playing squad for the opening weekend of Rebel WBBL|03.

International recruits Veda Krishnamurthy and Lauren Winfield are set to make their debuts for the team in purple, included in a 13-player squad that will make the trip to Glenelg to take on Adelaide Strikers in back-to-back matches on Saturday and Sunday.

India batter Krishnamurthy caught the attention of the cricketing world with a stunning 45-ball 70 against New Zealand during the ICC World Cup in July, and is set to play her first ever match in the league, while former Heat player Winfield opened for England during the ODI and Test legs of the Women's Ashes.

Hurricanes converts Stefanie Daffara (Sydney Thunder) and Nicola Hancock (Melbourne Renegades) are also set to make their purple debuts.

Mel Jones previews WBBL|03: Hobart Hurricanes

The double-header will be batter Corinne Hall's first hit-out as captain, following the departure of former skipper Amy Satterthwaite, who has joined the Renegades for WBBL|03.

Young West Indies star allrounder Hayley Matthews, who claimed a team-high 20 wickets last summer to go with her 185 runs, will be looking to get her season off to a flyer, while local talent Katelyn Fryett, Brooke Hepburn, Meg Phillips and Veronica Pyke have also been named.

Allrounder Celeste Raack and wicketkeeper-batter Georgia Redmanye round out the 13-player squad.

Both matches will be played at Gliderol Stadium, with Saturday's match starting at 2pm ACDT and Sunday's match starting at 12pm ACDT.

While the Hurricanes and Strikers open their campaigns at Glenelg, the Sydney Sixers, Sydney Thunder, Melbourne Stars, Melbourne Renegades, Brisbane Heat and Pertch Scorchers will launch their seasons at North Sydney Oval in the #WBBL03 Opening Weekend carnival at North Sydney Oval.

Hurricanes squad: Corinne Hall (c), Stefanie Daffara, Katelyn Fryett, Nicola Hancock, Brooke Hepburn, Veda Krishnamurthy, Hayley Matthews, Meg Phillips, Veronica Pyke, Celeste Raack, Georgia Redmayne, Emma Thompson, Lauren Winfield