Thunder name Kallis for Big Bash final

The Sydney Thunder have included the South African in their squad for the BBL|05 decider

The Sydney Thunder welcome back champion South Africa allrounder Jacques Kallis for Sunday's KFC Big Bash League final against the Melbourne Stars.

Kallis has missed the Thunder's last two matches with a groin injury and was desperate to play in Wednesday's semi-final against the Strikers in Adelaide.

"I expect him to play," thunder captain Mike Hussey said today. 

"He was very keen to play the semi-final but we took the call on giving him a few extra days in the hope of that we got through to the final. 

"He'll have his last fitness Test today but I'm pretty confident he'll play."  

The 40-year-old replaces New Zealand allrounder Henry Nicholls, while Jake Doran comes in for Andrew McDonald. 

WATCH: Kallis controls Thunder chase

The Stars have named an unchanged 13-man squad for their first BBL final after they defeated the two-time defending champions Perth Scorchers yesterday.

England import Kevin Pietersen, fresh off extending his contract for a further two years, guided the Stars to a seven-wicket victory with a swashbuckling 62.

“We’re really pleased to get over the line last night," Stars coach Stephen Fleming said. 

WATCH: Stars qualify for Big Bash final

"Even though it wasn’t a focus or a motivation for the side, getting past the semi-finals was an important step for the club. 

"We can now look forward to our first final in front of our crowd at our home ground. It doesn’t get much better than that!”

Before the BBL final commences at 7.20pm AEDT, the Melbourne Cricket Ground will host the inaugural Rebel Women's Big Bash League final between the Sydney Thunder and Sydney Sixers.

The Sixers storm into the final off the back of nine straight wins after a horror 0-6 start. 

WATCH: Sixers qualify for WBBL final

The Thunder were the form team throughout the regular season, losing only five games, and beat the Perth Scorchers in the semi-final in Adelaide to advance.

Both teams have named unchanged squads for the final, which starts at 1.40pm AEDT.

KFC Big Bash League final squads

Melbourne Stars: David Hussey (c), Michael Beer, Jackson Coleman, Seb Gotch, Evan Gulbis, Peter Handscomb, Ben Hilfenhaus, Kevin Pietersen, Rob Quiney, Marcus Stoinis, Daniel Worrall, Luke Wright, Adam Zampa

Sydney Thunder:  Mike Hussey (c), Fawad Ahmed, Aiden Blizzard, Jake Doran, Chris Green, Chris Hartley, Jacques Kallis, Nathan McAndrew, Usman Khawaja, Clint McKay, Ben Rohrer, Andre Russell, Shane Watson

Rebel Women's Big Bash League final squads

Sydney Thunder: Alex Blackwell (c), Charlotte Anneveld, Nicola Carey, Lauren Cheatle, Stef Daffara, Maisy Gibson, Rene Farrell, Rachael Haynes, Claire Koski (wk), Erin Osborne, Naomi Stalenberg, Stafanie Taylor, Belinda Vakarewa

Sydney Sixers: Ellyse Perry (c), Sarah Aley, Rhiannon Dick, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy (wk), Sara Hungerford, Marizanne Kapp, Emily Leys, Sara McGlashan, Angela Reakes, Lauren Smith, Lisa Sthalekar, Kara Sutherland