England add Ball to T20I squad

Paceman to remain with tourists as injury cloud hangs over two key fast bowlers

Jake Ball will remain with the England squad as cover ahead of the Gillette T20 international series, with fellow seamers Liam Plunkett and Chris Jordan managing injuries.

Ball, due to fly home after the five-match Gillette ODI series against Australia, has made the trip from Perth to Canberra, where England face a warm-up on Friday against a Prime Minister's XI.

The paceman, on tour since October but playing just one Ashes Test and one ODI, will be available if needed at Manuka Oval but has not yet been formally added to the squad for the T20 series against Australia and New Zealand.

Plunkett has not been available since tweaking his hamstring mid-over in the third ODI in Sydney, while Jordan is carrying a hamstring niggle after linking up on Tuesday night with the team.

England are expected to leave both out against the PM's XI, meaning a likely pace attack of Mark Wood, David Willey and Tom Curran.

Ball suffered a dizzy spell and briefly left the field for medical attention when he played in the final match of the 4-1 ODI series victory but there were no lingering concerns over his condition.

Opening batsman Alex Hales is also due to miss out in Canberra after hurting his hand when dropping a catch in the outfield in Perth.

England are hopeful, though not certain, all three of their walking wounded will be ready for the series proper but Hales' absence means the trio of Sam Billings, Dawid Malan and James Vince will play initially.

Billings and Malan were non-playing members of the triumphant ODI squad. Vince has been on Big Bash League duty since the Ashes.

"I've watched quite a bit of the one-day series out here on the TV and they've gone from strength to strength," said Vince.

"To beat Australia in Australia, especially after an Ashes defeat, is a great response. There are a few new faces in this squad but we'll try to take the momentum into this series."

Gillette T20 trans-Tasman Tri-Series

Australia squad: David Warner (c), Aaron Finch (vc), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Ben Dwarshuis, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, D'Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

England squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, David Willey, Mark Wood.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Anaru Kitchen, Colin Munro, Seth Rance, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Ben Wheeler. 

PM's XI v England Manuka Oval, February 2. Tickets

First T20I Australia v NZ, SCG, February 3. Tickets

Second T20I Australia v England, Blundstone Arena, February 7. Tickets

Third T20I Australia v England, MCG, February 10. Tickets

Fourth T20I NZ v England, Wellington, February 14

Fifth T20I NZ v Australia, Eden Park, February 16

Sixth T20I NZ v England, Seddon Park, February 18

Final TBC, Eden Park, February 21

But your T20 tickets now