IPL 2018

Root joins fellow stars in IPL auction

England's Test captain to test the waters in lucrative tournament alongside Aussie trio Cummins, Starc and Lynn


14 January 2018, 10:32 AM AEST

England Test skipper and star batsman Joe Root is among 282 foreign players looking to play in this year's lucrative Indian Premier League, the cricket board announced Saturday.

The player auction for the 11th IPL Twenty20 tournament is set for January 27-28 in Bangalore, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said.

Some 1,122 players will be on the auction block for the eight teams to bid for.

"The list that has been sent out to the eight IPL franchises has 281 capped players, 838 uncapped players, including 778 Indians and three players from the associate nations," said a BCCI release.

It predicted "a fierce bidding war" for Indian stars Gautam Gambhir and Yuvraj Singh, with the likes of Ravichandran Ashwin, Harbhajan Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Kuldeep Yadav, Lokesh Rahul and Murali Vijay also going under the hammer.

Root will join countrymen Ben Stokes and Eoin Morgan as the biggest names from England, while West Indies legend Chris Gayle and Australia trio Chris Lynn, Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins are also among those expected to attract considerable attention.

Formats only getting further apart: Morgan

While Root is a new IPL entrant and demanding a second-tier base payment of approx. US$235,000, England stars like Stokes and limited-overs captain Morgan will be in the running to hit the jackpot.

England allrounder Stokes, who missed the Ashes after being suspended for his alleged involvement in a pub brawl, was signed for a record $2.16m by Rising Pune Supergiant last year.

South African stars Hashim Amla, who hit two centuries for Kings XI Punjab last season, Faf du Plessis and Morne Morkel will also be expecting high bids.

India captain Virat Kohli will pick up the IPL's largest-ever salary – US$2.7 million – in this year's tournament after his team Royal Challengers Bangalore retained the star player.

Root was so ill during the fifth Test in Sydney that he was hospitalised due to severe dehydration after the fourth day of the match. He bravely left his hospital bed on day five to resume his innings, posting a half-century before the illness became too much for him and he retired his innings.

As Australia completed a victory that handed them a 4-0 series win, Root was asleep in the dressing-rooms.

Root batted in the nets in Sydney this week and England captain Eoin Morgan has confirmed he will play the opening Gillette series ODI at the MCG on Sunday.

IPL 2018 Auction

The A-Listers (US$315,000 base price)

From India: Ravi Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shikhar Dhawan, Gautam Gambhir, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, M Vijay, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, Karn Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Robin Uthappa.

Overseas: Rashid Khan, Pat Cummins, James Faulkner, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Johnson, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Starc, Cameron White, Eoin Morgan, Liam Plunkett, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Corey Anderson, Brendon McCullum, Quinton de Kock, Colin Ingram, Angelo Mathews, Dwayne Bravo, Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard.

The second tier (US$235,000 base price)

Aaron Finch, Amit Mishra, David Miller, Evin Lewis, Faf du Plessis, Harry Gurney, Hashim Amla, Jason Holder, Jason Roy, Jaydev Unadkat, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Kagiso Rabada, Kane Williamson, Kuldeep Yadav, Kyle Abbott, Lendl Simmons, Mark Wood, Michael Klinger, Moeen Ali, Mohit Sharma, Moises Henriques, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Nathan Lyon, Peter Handscomb, Ravi Bopara, Shaun Marsh, Steven Finn, Travis Head, Trent Boult, Washington Sundar.

The third tier (US$160,000 base price)

Adam Zampa, Alex Hales, Andrew Tye, Ben Cutting, Carlos Brathwaite, Chris Jordan, Dale Steyn, Daniel Christian, Dwayne Smith, Jason Behrendorff, JP Duminy, Lasith Malinga, Manish Pandey, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Imran Tahir, Mustafizur Rahman, Parthiv Patel, Piyush Chawla, Sam Billings, Samuel Badree, Sanju Samson, Shakib Al Hasan, Shane Watson, Tim Southee, Tom Curran, Tymal Mills, Umesh Yadav, Vinay Kumar, Wriddhiman Saha.

big bash fantasy banner